We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brand New and in a Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
173 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Brand New and in a Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Brand new hotel in Portland.... Great central location excellent staff. Rooms are smaller than your typical Hyatt Place and this property also has a bar which is not 'normal' in other Hyatt Place's. New well equipped fitness center.

Beds are very comfortable and everything worked..... had some early morning noise from construction behind the hotel but other than that all was good!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments! It is always great to be able to take feedback such as yours back to our staff to let them know that their efforts are appreciated. Thank you again! We look forward to seeing you the next time you find yourself in Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    243
    102
    54
    30
See reviews for
217
369
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Pros: Location is fanastic, near the waterfront. New hotel, great lobby, typical breakfast food. Very friendly morning staff.
Cons: DO NOT stay at Fore St. front side of hotel Fri. or Sat. night. Two nightclubs across street play music too loud, bass creats vibrations heard and felt in 4TH FLOOR room. Nightclubs close at 1 AM. Unless you're a nightclubber, definitely ask for back of hotel room.
Was not told at check-in, complained to day manager, Jordan K. next morning. Was told my points with stay would be refunded. Very polite and concerned. Thumbs up to their customer service, as I never expected such results. Always appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for back of hotel, away from Fore Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I was dissapointed to hear of your disatifaction, but happy that we were able to make the best out of a difficult situation. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is an new hotel in a great location. We noticed that people not staying at the hotel were having drinks at the bar which speaks to the location and the nice decor/ambiance. Staff are well-trained and ready to receive guests. The rooms are clean and nicely designed- open concept king bed with sitting area. In place of room service, you can order food and pick it up in the "gallery" downstairs at a more reasonable price ($5 draft beer, not bad).
We had a room on the front side of the hotel. From the 4th floor, there is barely a view of the harbor, there is probably a nice view from the 5th and 6th.

About the noise... we had drinks by the water on Commercial St. at around 11:00 PM and there was music coming from all sides. Literally every bar on the street had a live band (which I thought was nice) but it was surprisingly loud. With that being said, I do not necessarily blame the hotel as it seems that Portland has a lax noise ordinance. The hotel probably needs to improve their sound-proofing as the bars on Fore St. are quite busy past midnight.

Lastly, we got an incredible deal on this hotel room. We had a very comfortable stay but I would not pay the high season full price of $300+.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oleandur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for providing an account of your stay at Hyatt Place Portland Old Port. The Old Port as you know know can be a very active area at night with a multitude of entertainment options within a short walk from our property. The hotel does have sound machines and earplugs available upon request to ensure a restful nights sleep in the event the exterior noise is bothersome. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your overall experience at our hotel and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
429 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel had only been open like a month so everything is brand new - our entire room still had that "new car" smell to it. A nice sized room with a sectional couch seating area, 2 queen beds, a long desk area and a good size bathroom.

The area can be a little noisy being sandwiched between a tons of bars/restaurants and a constuction site on the other side. However you stay here because you ARE steps away from all the shops, restaurants and bars of Old Port. You are a block away from the water for all kinds of boat tours and great waterfront restaurants.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are glad that our hotel and staff were able to suit your needs and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We loved the location, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. However, we checked out early due to the noise. We had a room on the front of the hotel with a wonderful view of the bay. At about 11 pm, we called to complain about the noise - band was so loud we heard it over the air conditioning and TV. We were offered a sound machine and earplugs, but then decided to switch to a room at the rear of the hotel. Much quieter, even if the view was a construction site! However, we were woken at 6 am by construction noise. When the noise started just after 6 am on Saturday and the hotel could not assure us the work would not continue on Sunday, too, we checked out.

The hotel did let us check out 1 night early, and they did credit us $100. As I said, staff was wonderful.

The bathrooms had sliding frosted glass doors. In both rooms these doors did not close correctly or completely. This led to being able to hear every sound from the bathroom throughout the hotel room. We could hear a lot of noise from the halls and nearby rooms as well. The free breakfast was not very impressive. We moved to the Hampton Inn Old Port for our last night. It was less expensive and their breakfast was wonderful.

It's a beautiful hotel in a great location, but way too noisy for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that our hotel was not able to suit the needs of you and your family, but happy that you found our staff to be accomodating and helpful. I hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

It's I'm the middle of market street you have all this amazing little shops, restaurants and bars around it . The overall it's great the rooms are new everything is clean . The staff are very nice and really try to make your stray special . It's all that you can expect of a hotel

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Our staff certainly is a reflection of the culture we promote here at Hyatt Place Portland Old Port and I am happy that you were able to recognize this during your stay! We hope you will visit us again the next time you find yourself in Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night at this hotel and thought it was okay. The hotel is new so everything was fairly clean. Only drawback was the shampoo left in the shower from the previous guest. The breakfast in the morning was probably one of the worst breakfasts I've had at a hotel. Oatmeal was dry and almost empty. Breakfast sandwiches were also offered, but were dry with a strange egg substitute. Would suggest stopping at Holy Donut for breakfast instead. The location of this hotel was nice and in walking distance to popular restaurants and bars. Didn't notice any noise from bars as other reviews mentioned even though our room was on the side of the hotel where the bars were located.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jered C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I want to sincerely apologize for the experience you had regarding housekeeping service. I have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping manager so that he may address this instance with his staff. I apologize that the breakfast was not to your liking. I will be working with the staff to ensure that our complimentary breakfast offerings are fresh, nutritious, and plentiful. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port

Property: Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Address: 433 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Place Portland-Old Port, a hotel like no other in the country. As the only Hyatt hotel in Maine, we make an impression on our guests that lasts, with unique designs and guestroom layouts that put to shame the standard feel you get from other hotels. Not only that, but our views of Portland are impeccable-waterfront and city views set us aside as better than the rest, where a short walk is all you need to be inside Maine's renowned Old Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing