We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Celebrating our first anniversary, we took the train from Boston to Portland. The B&B was a short ride from the train station. David, the innkeeper, was there for our early arrival and showed us our room. We stayed in the Vaughn Room on the 3rd floor. You must stop on the 2nd floor and take some of David's fresh bakery he sets out. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom (each room has its own) was very new and up to date.. The breakfast was wonderful- David's personal size creations were unique and delicious! The B&B was a 10 minute walk from Old Port, but the walk is through cute neighborhoods- definitely a walkable town! Truly enjoyed our stay at Morrill Mansion, definitely would stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JL254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
278
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2008

From the moment we stepped through the door we felt welcome and comfortable.
While the hike to the third floor isn't for the faint of heart you can always stop for a snack in the second floor rest stop. Fantastic baked goodies await! Worth the hike.
The bed was beyond comfy. The room and bathroom were immaculate.
David was available but not hovering.
The breakfast was top rate.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NhMomo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snow country colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

I won't say too much, just that all the wonderful things everyone else posted are absolutely true. Just finished a B&B tour of New England. This was the best place by far. When I learned that the breakfast was a buffet, I was disappointed. Once I experienced that "buffet", I was won over. This place is great, beautiful, well appointed, very clean and comfortable. David is a great host. Would recommend this B&B to anyone. Do yourself a favor: stay here and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank julieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I stayed at this B&B for two nights in October 2008. It was a wonderful experience! David, the innkeeper, was a gracious host and very helpful. Anything from directions to getting around town to finding the perfect place for dinner, he was fantastic!

The B&B is absolutely beautiful! What's amazing is the work that was put into restoring it to it's former glory - incredible! Super cozy and inviting.

I stayed in the Back Cove Room and Loved it! It has the most incredible bed - super comfy - and an awesome bathroom. If you stay in this room, take advantage of the jetted tub! My first night, I was pretty wiped out from all my travels and opted to stay in - a fantastic idea!

Breakfast consisted of multiple choices, fruit, home-baked goodies, an egg dish, breads, etc. and was set out in the dining area. A nice touch was the quiet music in the background.

The B&B is located just a few minutes walking distance from just about everything. You def don't need a car to get around town - only for places further away.

In the afternoon, fresh-baked goodies were located in the sitting room on the second floor. This was a nice treat after spending a day checking out the local sites.

If I return to the Portland area, I'll definitely be staying here!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveljunkie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2008

The mansion was beautiful, rooms were very clean and comfortable but the service was SPECTACULAR!!! David (the Inn Keeper) was awesome! I'm not sure he ever slept - instead he just made sure everyone was comfortable and taken care of. If I ever return to the area, this is where I will stay!

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank workstoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Perfection in a BnB. This may be one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in! Wonderfully located in an old neighbourhood of portland but near all amenities. The host was so kind and helpful and every detail thought of from chewing gum for on your way out, cookies and iced tea for on your way back, DVDs, the most comfortable bed i can remember, delicious breakfast and lux bathroom - 5 out of 5.

  • Liked — The bed!
  • Disliked — No outdoor space
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raquel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, MA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Although my husband kept asking if we were staying with Marilyn Mansion....quite the opposite. The hotel lives up to all of the reviews. Beautiful room, decorating, linens (such a comfortable bed) and a great bathroom with the best smelling towels (I wish I knew what they used)! Lovely amenities such as chocolates in the room, cookies for a snack (and chips too) and the breakfast was phenomenal.....we received the last minute, baked bean rate which made the room a steal!!! Bargain or not, I would recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone.....although a little off the beaten path, it is only a $6-$7 cab ride to town if you don't want to drive. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyearsday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 249 Vaughan St, Portland, ME 04102-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrill Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Morrill Mansion Hotel Portland
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing