We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at Morrill Mansion in late May. We had a spacious, well appointed room on the third floor, facing the street, complete with a working fireplace, ceiling fan, sofa in a sitting area, and refrigerator. David is a gracious inn keeper who is willing to share recommendations for restaurants or sightseeing. He is also a talented baker. There are fresh baked goodies each afternoon along with ice tea or lemonade. There is hot tea or coffee available on each floor, 24/7. A breakfast buffet is set up in the butler's pantry each morning. It is lined with many choices, both hot and cold. We liked the inn's location, and we enjoyed the walk to various restaurants or to see the large mansions that line the streets behind the hospital. David keeps his inn immaculately clean, too. He thinks of many little details for his guests, such as storing little bags of ice in a freezer on the second floor or having serrated spoons to use with the pink grapefruit. He also has a collection of several hundred DVD's for use with the guest room DVD. There is a small parking lot on the property for guests' cars and there is convenient parking right out the front door on the street. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B & B to others who want to stay in a beautiful old Portland mansion that is clean, safe, well-located, and run by the owner/manager. Thank you, David!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    26
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
272
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very good B&B, a little out of town, but a wonderful walk to the center of town. We had the "Baked bean special rates" for the room and were pleased with it for one night. The owner was very helpful and is available for any information. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasha166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Let me start by saying this was probably my favorite B&B stay. When I first drove up, I was a little nervous since it is across the street from the hospital. Give it a chance, it's not a bad area.

David was delightful. He is an excellent cook, and made us feel at home. I had a problem with the DVD player in my room and he went in while we were out to make sure that it was set up properly. When we return, this will definitely be my B&B of choice.

Room Tip: The Back Cove room was ours. Lovely room, very comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at the Morrill Mansion for part of our trip to Portland, then stayed at a Hilton brand hotel for the remainder. We were regretful for not staying at Morrill the entire time. Wonderful B&B. Great breakfast, service, and whoopie pies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Morrill Mansion is a lovely B&B. Our room was comfortable and very nicely appointed. Breakfast was delicious, and the owner was friendly and helpful. The building itself is beautifully maintained and not too far from the major Portland attractions. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Morrill Mansion for 5 days in the Burnham room, which was so beautiful. The bed was so comfortable I could have slept all day! and the bathtub, with its jets, was a delight. I can't speak enough of how beautiful and comfortable the room was and in fact the entire inn. The owner/innkeeper, David, is such a great cook/baker. Every morning there was a different hot breakfast, each one just as delicious as the last. There were pancakes with blueberries, eggs with lobster, french toast, bread pudding, muffins, and the list goes on and on. If you didn't want hot food, he always had cereals, bagels, fresh fruit and yogurt. There's also a sitting room on the 2nd and 3rd floors where there is complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate all day long. David also bakes sweets every afternoon and leaves them in the sitting rooms for his guests. He makes the best whoopie pies and cookies. When we returned to our room each day, we always stopped to pick up a treat! David is a very gracious host, full of information about Portland and the surrounding area. We enjoyed chatting with him. The inn is very centrally located, a block off a main street, but still on a quiet residential street. As you can see, this review is very long because we absolutely loved Morrill Mansion and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margie648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our camping gang of 13, stayed at the Morrill Mansion from Dec. 5th to Dec. 8th, we had the B & B all to ourselves. Cannot say enough about the accommodations, as well as, the superb hospitality of David, Owner/Innkeeper. This B&B is worth the trip to Portland!
Our group had a great weekend, there wasn't one complaint.
Look forward to staying at the Morrill Mansion in the future.
David, sorry this review took so long, we had an enjoyable weekend, and appreciate all you did to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiterabbit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 249 Vaughan St, Portland, ME 04102-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrill Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Morrill Mansion Hotel Portland
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing