We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B - highly personal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Everything about Morrill Mansion was fantastic, from the rooms to David (the innkeeper)'s service, to the breakfast, to the personal touch of the inn. We were a group of 8 from Singapore and took four rooms in the inn.

The common room was perfect for hanging out (especially with the daily baked goods that David prepared). The rooms were of the highest quality, with well furnished bathrooms, custom toiletries and daily fresh towels.

Breakfast was in a quaint dining room with fresh food prepared by David. Don't miss the raspberry custard!

The pricing was also very reasonable - for an inn of this quality, we could have been paying much higher.

Finally, David's attention to detail and personal touch to running the inn made Morrill Mansion a place we will definitely stay at again if out travels take us back to Portland.

Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrislimkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 415 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

We were two couples traveling together and stayed at the Morrill Mansion for 4 nights. We preferred the location in a quaint neighborhood of restored old homes rather than the downtown area which was a short walk away. The rooms were well appointed, very clean and with every comfort. David was very helpful, offered advice about Portland that was right on the mark and, he is a great cook! We especially enjoyed his afternoon treats and the fact that tea/coffee was available just outside our door at all times. The breakfasts offered plenty of choices from cereal, breads and fruits to homemade surprises such as lobster/egg like souflee and peach/strawberry cobbler.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emstraveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and totally agree with everything the previous reviewers have said – to mention a few - spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, comfy beds, wonderful breakfasts, chocolates and mineral water in your room, coffee, tea and homemade goodies in the common sitting room, charming, welcoming and helpful host – what more could you ask for? One word of warning, make sure you book in advance as there were no vacancies on either of the nights we stayed.

Room Tip: Maybe go for the 1st floor if you have heavy cases
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Every detail was accounted for at the Morrill Mansion B&B, from the chilled ice tea and homemade cookies in the afternoon in the guest lounge to the exquisite quality of the sheets to all of the amenities, including an air purifier and air conditioner in every room, wine glasses and a corkscrew, on-demand coffee and tea, free wireless, free parking, etc. David has something very special going on at the Morrill Mansion! We stayed in the Vaughan room, which had beautiful high ceilings, luxurious bedding, and lots of beautiful antique furniture, as well as an awesome hand-tiled shower. Although the B&B is a bit of a stroll from the Old Port, staying at the Morrill Mansion is worth the extra walk through the residential part of town. If you're walking back late at night, take the residential roads instead of Commercial Street (which walks you on the edge of a neighborhood and some parks that didn't make me feel 100 safe...) We will definitely stay here again for the level of service, comfort of the inn, and the affordable price. Beautiful, beautiful place, worthy of a trip to Portland just to stay here!

Room Tip: The Vaughan Room - 3rd floor, corner, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLikeaLocalVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Booked 3 nights at Morrill Mansion as we were travelling by coach to Maine for a quick look after staying in Boston. David our host was there to greet us & made us feel most welcome. He had a ready supply of local information & a list of places to eat. Do follow up his personal reccommendations! More importantly there was tea coffee & cakes for us to enjoy. We stayed a Friday night, free entry to Portland Museum of Art, worth the visit, followed by supper at The Green Elephant, don't miss the chocolate dessert!
Rooms were generous in size everything was spotlessly clean, breakfast was excellent & different treets each morning. Weather was not so good but having somewhere warm & comfortable to return to made the visit.
Our return bus was in afternoon so David stored our bags for us which was good.
Do beware you wil need to book well in advance, even in off season as there are only a few central B&B's and this was as good as it gets. Thank you David, We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallClinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

If you want a relaxing getaway this is the place for you! Stayed here with my girlfriend 3/31-4/1 for her birthday. The food was excellent- had homemade sausage and egg souffle, berry crisp, french toast, raspberry custard along with other breakfast staples. David is a great cook. We stayed in the Morrill Suite which was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom was immaculate- and had all bathroom necessities.
Afternnoon and eveing snacks in the common area...homemade cookies, and blondie brownies, fruit, chips, tea, coffee. Parking behind the inn and close to everything! David had great suggestions with things to do and restaurants with many in walking distance! I have no complaints. Would defintely return to the Morrill Mansion if back in Portland!

Room Tip: Call and speak to David!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jryan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Staying at the "Morrill Mansion" is a wonderful experience! I stayed there on two occasions and enjoyed everything from the beautifully appointed rooms to the "best breakfast I've had in America". (Fresh fruit and more; one day there was eggless custard with rasberries - Panna cotta? Sinfully good :)
Beds were comfortable, Bathrooms are lovely, everything is spotless and well cared for. The attention to detail impressed me: There's always hot water for tea in the hall, a cookie in the cosy living room - and there is even a great selection of movies available that you can watch in your room.
My husband loved it too, when I brought him there, just as a treat for us.
David is a kind, wonderful host who quitely works hard to make this B&B special.
(This from a Swiss living in Maine :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank European-inMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,446 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 249 Vaughan St, Portland, ME 04102-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $161 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrill Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Morrill Mansion Hotel Portland
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing