We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Italian Place on Pine St.”
Review of Caiola's - CLOSED

Caiola's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Gray, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little Italian Place on Pine St.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a wonderful meal here the other night with friends. I'm glad we called ahead and made reservations because the place is tiny, but with the reservations they sat us right on time. I had the paella and it was great. The staff was wonderful. A Portland classic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    93
    29
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Jem”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were recommended this great little Italian restaurant by Deb of the neighbouring West End Inn B&B and it was a splendid choice with very authentic Italian cuisine. We both had the black sea bass which was perfect. The place was packed with very friendly locals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem away from the tourists”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A Maine travel magazine touted Caiola's as new place with creative chefs..they were so right! The menu choices were rather limited, but each dishes we tried were different from others we'd ever had, perfectly done. The paella was outstanding and my wife raved about the spicy chicken, sausage dish she had. Our only complaint was that the noise level was very loud, parking was limited too, but It was nice to be away from the tourist area of downtown.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Road Warriors M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy dining experience in Portland's West End”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My dad and I (after hours of deliberation) decided to try Caiolas recently. Am I glad we made that decision. Caoilas is a small restaurant with maybe 15 tables. The menu was varied but stayed true to "Mediterranean influence". I started with a caesar salad with fried oysters. The salad was fresh with the right amount of dressing. The oysters we fresh with a spicy batter. The remoulade served with the oysters was a little too salty but the flavor was reminiscent of olives and capers. Overall it was a well composed salad. For my entree I chose the Paella. And I felt relieved that when I asked to have it made without peppers that I was accommodated. The shellfish was fresh and tasty, the chorizo was UH MAZE ING, and the chicken leg in the middle of my dish was tender, juicy and well seasoned. It was a fantastic paella. The sangria here is very good (it is a red wine based sangria). There aren't any beers on draft but the wine list was extensive and they have a full bar.
If you are looking for a cozy place that serves mediterranean influenced cuisine in a fun neighborhood with an excellent staff - I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreanewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I ate here at the recommendation of our inn keeper. We had a lovely meal -- he had paella and I had the burger. Both were delicious. Our server was very attentive and we would definitely recommend it to others.

Helpful?
Thank MSUmom92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caiola's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing