We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem on Munjoy Hill”

The Front Room Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #61 of 620 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: If you’re looking for a great brunch spot in Portland, Maine you have come to the right place! The Front Room offers a variety of affordable dishes that the entire family will love. Chef Lee Harding has dedicated his life to the culinary arts and focuses on using only the freshest Maine ingredients in his creations. His philosophy is simple; use the best local ingredients to convey the boldest flavors. With a vibrant atmosphere and open dining room, The Front Room continues to be a hit among Portland locals. Huge portions of sensational dishes will fill you up without breaking your wallet. The Front room is the third restaurant founded in Harding’s “The Rooms” brand of restaurants, so don’t miss out on this local hotspot! Remember, The Front Room serves brunch seven days a week and with menu items like Biscuits and Gravy or Omelets and Silver Dollar Pancakes. You can’t go wrong! If you are interested in dinning with us later in the day, try some local favorites like Short Ribs or Lamb Shepard’s pie. A fully stocked bar, open from 8am-11pm, complemented by an energetic atmosphere makes the Front Room a must for those who crave a great neighborhood spot to call their own.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem on Munjoy Hill”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Ate at the Front Room for breakfast while on vacation in Maine. We were renting a townhouse on Munjoy Hill, so the Front Room was just a quick 2-minute walk down Congress St. I ordered the steak and eggs, while my wife had the gnocchi with bacon, spinach, and poached eggs.

My steak was a perfect medium (what I ordered), beautifully seared on the outside, and properly seasoned. The eggs were spot on, and the fried potatoes and brioche were both excellent. My wife enjoyed her breakfast gnocchi as well.

The service was prompt and attentive, and the restaurant was quiet, with only about 3 tables seated (we were there on a Wednesday morning). For the quality of the food and the generous portions, the prices were a bargain.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    101
    32
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfect Breakfast”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

After many recommendations, I finally tried The Front Room for breakfast. Early on a weekday, there was no wait and we got seated right away. Looking at the menu, there were so many great options and daily specials that it was hard to choose. I had the brioche French toast which was sweet and delicious. But the home fries were the star. They were big potato chunks that were crispy with pieces of onions and peppers. I would go back specifically for them. Service was quick and attentive. I won't hesitate to make this my regular breakfast spot!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 783m783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food - Too Loud”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Not every place can get and excellent rating right? Seated immediately, service promptly, but food wasn't perfect, and eventually I found myself leaning so far over the table to hear my dining partner that my back hurt. Pretty bad acoustics made this less than stellar, but very good overall

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, can be noisy”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Have been here several times for both lunch and dinner. Food and service is consistently very good. The cocktail menu is creative. The space can get rather loud and unfortunately they don't take reservations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Avoid peak hours”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I went to dinner there around 5:30. Could barely get in the door. It seems a lot of diners (including myself) had waited till the last minute to use their Groupon or Living Social coupons and it's not a very big restaurant. I was told there would be a 45 minute wait and I expressed willingness to sit at the bar. The hostess helped me by telling me which people at the bar were waiting for a table and where they were on the list. So I tapped Bob (second from the top of the list) on the shoulder, let him know he was second up, and let him know I would be taking his seat--but he got up and offered me his seat right away instead. My coupon was for $35 so I ordered the fried oysters, beet salad with goat cheese, and spaghetti carbonara, and chatted with my "neighbors" while waiting for my order. The 4 fried oysters were crispy with a sauce tasting of mustard. Quickly consumed. Loved the beet salad--crispy greens, cubes of delicately pickled beets, a frothy mound of whipped mild goat cheese on top. Didn't appear to have many beets but they were buried under the greens. Saved some for takeout. Waited awhile for the spaghetti--a big mound (I always like leftovers so I don't have to cook). I would have preferred less parmesan cheese and smaller pieces of salty pork (maybe bacon). Couldn't tell if white wine had been added. Street parking only and with the number of driveways in the neighborhood, a space close by is hard to find. There are a few tables outside and a few hardy souls sat in the (moderately) cold while they waited.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainiac1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Room Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Front Room Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing