We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit hard to find.....but well worth the effort!”
Review of Duckfat

Duckfat
Ranked #9 of 614 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Duckfat is a small sandwich shop that has it all: classic Belgian fries made with local Maine potatoes fried in duck fat, panini, soups, salads, charcuterie, sodas and milkshakes all made in house. Add a killer beer and wine list and you have Duckfat, a fun and unique dining destination in Portland, Maine.
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a bit hard to find.....but well worth the effort!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

we circled the block (many one-way Portland streets) this hidden gem has an orange striped awning, but no prominent sign. glad we found it for a quick late afternoon bite today. great locally brewed draft beers, and their fabulous fries!!!!! can't wait to return for their panninis and soups.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capecodbob41545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    910
    472
    133
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply yummy!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stopped in to Duckfat tonight and had a wonderful experience. Great wait staff, efficient and lovely. The fries were everything they were hyped up to be and more - brussel sprout salad was incredible - will be back for more of the salads. Husband had the pork sirloin panini sandwich which was tasty too. All around great vibe,perfectly seasoned food and attention to details which I love. I am not easy to please and felt the place was perfect.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, NH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I wanted to try Duckfat and I wasn't disappointed. My husband and I shared the lamb and black lentil soup, fries with Thai Chili Mayo, the BGT (bacon, goat cheese and tomato panini), as well as mint and lime soda and theoriginal duckfat milkshake. Wow. It was so good.

the restaurant is small. At 3pm on a Friday we squeezed into the only 2 open seats which was the small bar looking right into the kitchen. Loved watching what was being served. Next time, we'll definitely be ordering off the Charcuterie menu

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tpcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“My #1 spot in Portland!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ever since this place originally opened it has always been top of my list for a GREAT panini or snack. It has sometimes been hard to get a seat, especially if all you want is fries and a shake, but I've always been happy to wait.
My friends and I love the bar 'word wall'.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmilyOnTheG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I popped in to Ducfat to finally try Poutine for the first time and I wasn't dissapointed.
It's a small establishment and has a very friendly atmosphere. Our wait person was great, he had suggested a couple delicious small plates to go along with the Poutine topped with a quail egg.
I tried a Pemequid oyster stout that was great, I was a bit skeptical at first, based solely on the name.
The entire experience was fun, I'll certainly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd_from_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duckfat also viewed

 

Been to Duckfat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing