We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very scenic and peaceful”
Review of Eastern Promenade

Eastern Promenade
Ranked #6 of 146 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
174 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very scenic and peaceful”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed on Munjoy Hill and walked the Promenade daily. Beautiful scenery, good pathways, and very calm & peaceful

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    144
    24
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old school houses and water views”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Like a step back in time, huge mansions line the street across from the bay . Well attended gardens and stately homes afford walkers or drivers a view of how the upper crust developed the original parts of town .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alexa303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machias, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Such a Surprise!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were driving up Congress, having done to conventions in the city for years, but not knowing it really well, and whammo! We were stunned to come to this Promenade and incredible blue vista! Congress St. just ends at a monument, and it opens up---the Bay, the islands, this great expanse of green, and a wonderful avenue of trees and great houses lining it. Lucky dogs to live there!! We stopped and parked right on the road and sat at a picnic table just enjoying the view and the breeze. We determined that we would come back next year and bring take-out pizza with us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank soozi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Drive around the Eastern Promenade”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was introduced to us five years ago by a native Mainer and when we returned this year we made a point of taking the tour on our way out of town.

The views of the harbor and Portland are fantastic with lots of places to park and get out and enjoy the green space.

The most impressive part of the tour is just looking at the mansions and imagining what it was like when they were new and staffed by servants answering your beck and call. The narrow gauge railway is also in this area and a food truck with lobster rolls at a fair price.

Perhaps the most important part of this tour is that it is free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bulldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Take a break on the Eastern Prominade”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Less than 1 mile from Commercial Street up Fore Street you come to the Eastern Prominade. Lot's of open space, green, a beach, walking paths and the view of Casco Bay. One of the reasons Portland is such a great place to live having this beautiful Prominade. 4th of July they have a spectacular fire works display. Today, we just needed to chill for a few hours before a fabulous dinner at Street. We rested and basically vegged out for 2 hours. It was windy but the views of the bay were wonderful. We are just visiting for a few days but always when we do visit spend some time at this fabulous place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zeke905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Promenade also viewed

 

Been to Eastern Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing