We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific place to stay!”
Review of West End Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West End Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A warm welcome, a delightful cup of tea, a lovely room, wonderful breakfasts, knowledgeable advice and an oasis from a busy downtown port.

Very easy to reach the busy downtown...about 5 minute drive away. And a nearby restaurant, Cariola, is excellent.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: First floor is very convenient as upper floors are reached by steep steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellieNyack_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful endorsement of our inn. As noted in your summary of your stay, the West End of Portland has a lot to offer: great restaurants, lovely places to walk, the Portland Museum of Art and so much more. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Deb and Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 500 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great west end location with on the street parking except for 2 driveway spaces. Very tastefully furnished and decorated. Comfortable beds, big bath tubs, Wi-Fi &Hi Def cable TV (No HBO) Very friendly and helpful staff. The owner carried my heavy bag outside and put it in my car without my asking and they were ready to help in any way they could to make our stay pleasant. Nice free snacks and good quality tea coffee and soft drinks always available. Delicious breakfast. Immaculately clean and surprisingly low prices. This is now far and away our favorite B&B in Portland and we have been to several before. At this price, and with this service and experience there is no reason to stay in a hotel unless you are coming in at midnight.

Room Tip: Just ask. They will try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for such an in-depth review of your stay. We are pleased to be your favorite B&B in Portland! We thought you might like to know, we are happy to have guests arrive past our check in window. We accommodate late arrivals with a self check in. Hope to see you the next time you visit Portland.
Cheers! Scot&Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After a long day of traveling, what a delightful retreat for the beginning of our vacation. James greeted us with a "welcome home" smile as we were getting out of our car and things just got better from there. We were fortunate enough to stay in 2 rooms during our 2-night stay and each was just as cozy and comfortable as the other. Breakfast was delicious. The homemade blueberry pancakes and Belgium waffles were the rival of any restaurant. Dinner recommendations by James were spot on and were easily accessible by walking. Deb & Scott were excellent innkeepers and made us feel very much at home. As a first-time visitor to Maine, Portland was the perfect introduction to New England. Thank you, Deb, Scott, and James for making the beginning of our vacation so interesting and fun. And, yes, we shopped at Renys before leaving Portland and it is everything you said it would be.

Room Tip: The 1st floor bedroom has a private deck and the room is large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCarolinaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Portland. There are so many things to see and do in this accessible city. The restaurants in the neighborhood are very good and are easy to walk to from the inn, we love to recommend them. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Best regards, Scott&Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We checked our bags early in the morning, and the innkeepers were happy to keep our bags for us while we went sightseeing. When we returned that evening, they already had our bags stowed in our third floor room. Our room was extremely comfortable and cozy. There was a hot spell in Portland, but our room was nice and cool - thanks to the window unit. We walked everywhere we wanted to go in Portland- it's a nice little jaunt through a nice neighborhood. The blueberry pancakes for breakfast were AMAZING!! Coffee and juice were delicious and plentiful. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Maine wild blueberries are the best and are an integral part of Scott's pancakes. So glad you enjoyed them. Carrabassett Coffee roasters located in Kingfield Maine, is our coffee supplier. We hope you to see you again. Best, Deb&Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Unfortunately we just had the one night in Portland, otherwise would have stayed a lot longer with Scott and Deb. They were both extremely friendly and helpful with a vast knowledge of the local area. A real pleasure to stay with them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We love living in Maine and enjoying sharing our favorite spots. Thank you for your kind words. Best regards, Deb&Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fantastic B&B, clean and comfortable rooms with airconditioning which is important in the summer! Breakfast was delicious and we were greeted with homemade cookies and refreshments which were well needed! They also had fresh fruit/veggie juice which was homemade!! Delicious.
The inn keepers were welcoming and keen to recommend places nearby for dinner etc. It was a 25 min walk into the town which wasn't bad at all and only a quick taxi ride home. Portland is great and I'd highly recommend the West End Inn

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islander005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation of our establishment. It means a lot to see it in writing on the internet. Best regards, Deb&Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I recently visited Portland with my husband on July 9th to the 11th. We stood at the West End Inn and decided to stay in two different rooms. Both rooms were extremely cute and comfortable. The second room which was a beautiful ocean green color had a king size bed and private bathroom. All the rooms had private bathrooms. The first night we stood in a leopard print bedroom really cute as well with a queen size bed. I really enjoyed my stay and slept like a baby. We were treated very nicely and greeted from the very beginning with a warm and welcoming greeting. The house was spotless, exceptionally quaint and beautiful. If I ever had a bed and breakfast for a business this would be the one I choose. I loved every second of my stay and will absolutely return. All the best to the staff at The West End. You are A++++ in my book. Oh and Breakfast was delicious and amazing like the ambiance. Again all the best to you, see you soon.....Selena and Chris

Room Tip: All the rooms have a private bathroom. I stood in the leopard room and ocean green room. Both beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

A++++, we love it! Thanks for the high marks! Our staff appreciates being recognized for their hard work. They get jazzed when a guest mentions the inn is spotless in their review. We enjoyed meeting you two. Best regards, Deb&Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Inn On Carleton
Inn On Carleton
#4 of 11 in Portland
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Park Spring
The Inn at Park Spring
#3 of 11 in Portland
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Danforth
The Danforth
#5 of 11 in Portland
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Inn

Address: 146 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102-3541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $126 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gracious 1871 townhouse in Portland, Maine's, Historic District. The West End Inn offers classic hospitality and freshly prepared breakfasts in a quiet, tree-lined residential neighborhood. Steps from the Western Promenade. Near Arts District, museums, Old Port area and award-winning restaurants. Off-street parking. Short drive to State Parks, lighthouses, lobster pounds, and premium shopping. Fly to PWM, drive 2 hours from Boston or take the Amtrak Downeaster, then relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your West End Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Portland
West End Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing