We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B”
Review of West End Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West End Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I spent two nights in Room4, sharing a twin room with a friend of mine. I cannot imagine a more 'home feeling' experience in a B&B. I can quote in full Neil J's review on the room setting. Scott and Deb are great hosts who give to the B&B stay a touch of true sense of family. Breakfast is excellent, menu' changes every day, attention is given to use bio and organic food. A place not to miss if in Portland!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
What a great testimonial you gave regarding your stay at West End Inn. It is very gratifying to us that you have corroborated another guests review. We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate that you took the time to do that. Grazie mille! Deb and Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    44
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
309
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The West End Inn was ideal for us. We had the room, next to the living room which is highly recommendable. The room is very beautifully decorated and has a little private porch. The hosts, Scott and Deb, are really there for you. They help you find a good restaurant and will make reservations or do any other queries you have. Absolutely fabulous is the breakfast! Every day the menu (!) changes and you have a three course breakfast. All products are fresh and delicious. The pancakes, waffles or omelette, all delicious. The Inn is very well located. Within five minutes (by car) you are at the waterfront. The neighbourhoud of the Inn is peaceful and all the houses are worth a look. Will come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mijntje60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to send your endorsement of our inn to Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We are so glad you stayed with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Best, Deb and Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights in Room 4. I can't imagine a better B&B experience. The room and bathroom were large, the bed was large, firm and comfortable, everything was immaculate and attractive, and the room had all the conveniences we needed. It was also very quiet. The downstairs sitting room and dining area were also lovely and immaculate. (By the way, while we were out one day the television was upgraded to a new flat screen, and while we were out another day, just as the weather turned warm an air-conditioner was installed). The breakfasts were delicious, the other guests were very nice, and Deb and Scott were lovely hosts. All in all a perfect base for a visit to a lovely city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and thank you for your making the time to write a review. It was fun to do the changes to your room over the course of your stay. Your recognition of those efforts were much appreciated. We hope we have the privilege of your company again. Enjoy the summer! Scott and Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in Portland and I can highly recommend it as an alternative to the business hotels downtown. I stayed six nights on a business trip and enjoyed good nights' sleep, delicious breakfasts and a very warm welcome by the inkeepers and other staff members. Service was very friendly and attentive, low-key in a pleasant way. The neighborhood is beautiful, perfect for a walk or a morning run. Also, good complimentary Wi-Fi, tasty cookies, and warm tea goes a long way.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 2 which was light and nice thanks to the many big windows. It has a couch, but no des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arg512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your endorsement of the West End Inn as a place that is comfortable for both the business person and the holiday traveller. Room 2 is one of two of our rooms that does not offer a desk. We are looking into what options exist for a lap desk for those who would prefer to work in their room. Thank you for your thoughtful feedback. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Deb and Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A wonderful stay in Portland! We stayed in #5 on the third floor (and checked out several other rooms as we could) and all were beautiful, spotless and well cared for. The bed was VERY comfortable, the public areas are warm and inviting. They take very good care of what is a beautiful older structure. Scott (creator of the fantastic breakfasts!) and Deb (tour guide and both are former restauranteurs) understand hospitality! I have stayed in the larger hotels in the Old Port in the past and although they are very nice, I will definitely stay at West End Inn again when I return.

The neighborhood is worth walking around, steps from the western promenade (great views), full of some amazingly beautiful houses and a number of architectural gems and an easy walk to the Old Port and all it has to offer. Easy walk also to several wonderful restaurants! (try Petite Jacqueline)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We enjoyed meeting you and appreciate that you booked with us last weekend. Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write this review. It really means a lot to be recognized by our guests on Tripadvisor. We look forward to seeing you the next time you have the opportunity to come to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in room #6, on the third floor. We had a wonderful experience upon arrival.
The location is great. A nice quiet street in the West End, close to great shops, the Portland Art Museum (free Fri evenings!), and great restairants. I saw other places, like the bigger hotels in the waterfront, but this location was so much better, with free parking on street or the driveway and much less touristy.
The room was nice and comfortable. The shower was a bit small, but all was immaculate clean, and we slept well.
The hosts are really great and truly made our experience great. Breakfast varies everyday, and it's really really good!! They also have tea and home made cookies in the afternoon.
We can't thank them enough for the wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time in Portland and at our establishment. It was a pleasure to meet you. Your comment about the shower is valid. It is small. We have been whittling away at a punch list of improvements since we purchased the inn in November of 2011. The bathroom has made it to the top of the list and will be addressed by the end of the year. Guest feedback is important to us. Thanks for taking the time to write. Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our group stayed for 2 nights over memorial day weekend in rooms 1 and 4 at the West End Inn. Both rooms were spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Beds were fantastically comfortable!
Superb breakfast every morning - really can't rate this highly enough. Hosts were friendly and helpful- advised us as to where we could visit, places to eat, local taxis etc.
B&B is about a 5 minute drive to the old port area (approx $7 in a cab)or a 25 minute walk.
Free on street parking if the small driveway is full. Quiet residential area.
Would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyUSA_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
It was great to have you and your family with us over the holiday weekend. Thank you for posting your comments. We hope you get the chance to return to this wonderfully accessible city. We'd be pleased to see you again. Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Inn On Carleton
Inn On Carleton
#4 of 12 in Portland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Inn

Property: West End Inn
Address: 146 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102-3541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gracious 1871 townhouse in Portland, Maine's, Historic District. The West End Inn offers classic hospitality and freshly prepared breakfasts in a quiet, tree-lined residential neighborhood. Steps from the Western Promenade. Near Arts District, museums, Old Port area and award-winning restaurants. Off-street parking. Short drive to State Parks, lighthouses, lobster pounds, and premium shopping. Fly to PWM, drive 2 hours from Boston or take the Amtrak Downeaster, then relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Portland
West End Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing