We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just delightful....”
Review of West End Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West End Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just delightful....”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed four days at the West End in December. We traveled to Maine to attend a wedding and wanted to stay close to where it was being held. If it had not of been snowing and I wasn't wearing high heels, we could have walked. The location was great, close to lots of good restaurants, shopping and nightlife. The Inn was nicely appointed and clean. The inn keepers were very helpful with suggestions on what to do and how to get there.

The breakfast was the best! Several different things to chose from every morning. Everything sounded so good, a couple of times I order alittle of both! There was a pancake, an egg dish, homemade granola (which I have made at home from their recipe) and fresh fruit.

If you are traveling to Portland and want to stay in town, I would definitely recommend the West Inn. It's one to keep on the list.

Room Tip: Because we waited too long to make a reservation, we ended up staying in two different rooms. The f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truenorth415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    44
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
309
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited Portland in Oct 2012 and had a comfortable stay at the West End Inn.

On arrival he were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who helped with the bags, where we could park and options for dinner. We stayed in the room with a private bathroom across the hall and there were absolute no issues with that. Breakfast in the morning was also excellent!

Only negative comments would be on price, which compared to other B&Bs we'd stayed in through New England I didn't think this was particularly good value for money. I would also say that the owner could have been a little more personable in the morning on check out. Portland itself was pretty quiet and there wasn't much to do or see. Weather wasn't great so maybe it's more of a summer place..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place was phenomenal. The breakfasts were out of this world! Easy access to the Old Port. Rooms are immaculate. Great neighborhood for walking (probably better in the Summer when there is not 16-20 inches of snow on the ground)....Deb and Scott are a wealth of knowledge on restaurants in Portland. If you are a foodie and you want a couples or family getaway, you should stay here. My wife and I came for a 'baby moon' and it was just the type of relaxing place you need to get away from the hustle/bustle of the city.

Big thumbs up for this place---would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong on a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The breakfast is the best I've ever had. The owner has chef industry experience. Very nice owners and very comfortable. Clean rooms and great service. I would return and book again. Great value also. If you are looking for a romantic getaway Portland is very quaint and it has great restaurants and activities to do.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lefko1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

West End Inn is a cute b&b with 6 separate bedrooms. It's not directly downtown but its an easy 10 min walk. It's very well run and taken care of by Deb and the food they serve for breakfast is unbelievable (like all the food in Portland). She gave us a map and restaurant recommendations and overall was a very helpful resource. We loved our time there and just felt very much at home. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Vineyard, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was greeted at the door and promptly brought to a gorgeous third floor room in this lovely Georgian Bed and Breakfast. I was on business and in a hurry so I was given a key and then on my way. Arriving back at night there were snacks and coffee mugs heating on the radiator - touches that distinguish this B and B from others A long walk around the East End of Portland was a great way to start the morning. The breakfast was amazing and the innkeepers engaging. I will definitely return with my spouse in the near future to take more time to enjoy this lovely lodging.

Room Tip: Looking for privacy, choose the third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the West End Inn. The inn is very comfortable and the room was very nice and clean. Great neighborhood. Can walk to nearby restaurants and on a nice day not too far to the Old Port area and the Arts Distirict. Very nice breakfast and friendly innkeepers. Hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Inn On Carleton
Inn On Carleton
#4 of 12 in Portland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Inn

Property: West End Inn
Address: 146 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102-3541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gracious 1871 townhouse in Portland, Maine's, Historic District. The West End Inn offers classic hospitality and freshly prepared breakfasts in a quiet, tree-lined residential neighborhood. Steps from the Western Promenade. Near Arts District, museums, Old Port area and award-winning restaurants. Off-street parking. Short drive to State Parks, lighthouses, lobster pounds, and premium shopping. Fly to PWM, drive 2 hours from Boston or take the Amtrak Downeaster, then relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Portland
West End Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing