We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dynamite stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West End Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West End Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
“Dynamite stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

A great inn in a great location. Deb and Scott were both great and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Scott's artistry in the kitchen shows through from the home baked cookies to the outstanding breakfasts. A short walk down the brick mansion lined streets and you will find yourself in downtown Portland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acmeanvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the West End Inn and your time in Portland. As you mentioned, the city is so accessable from our historic neighborhood. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. We hope you will have the occassion to visit Portland again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    43
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
287
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Deb and Scott are wonderful: helpful, interesting, and unobtrusive! James and Ecklace are also top-notch; we felt pampered our entire stay. Breakfasts were marvelous- and James' advice about where to eat was spot-on. We won't stay anywhere else in Portland!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The West End Inn is exactly as everyone else says: what you see on the internet is what you get!
The property is spotless and well kept, the food is delicious, the rooms comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 because it offered a King size bed-- actually 2 twins put together but not notic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BodhisattvaHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

"The place looks EXACTLY as it appears on the website," is what we exclaimed to web savvy friends upon our return from Portland's West End Inn. The West End Inn, located in a beautiful neighborhood of Portland - close to parks and other amenities - offers a cheerful and tasteful combination of contemporary and antique furnishings. A two-hour breakfast period offers both continental (e.g. yogurt, granola, fresh muffin) and hot entrees (cooked to order); healthy snacks (e.g. fresh fruit, pretzels) are available all day.

Inn Co-owner, Deb Devlin, is the front guy (her hubby Scott is the chef). We experienced her as having an expected level of Yankee reserve - offering a good balance of polite assistance with privacy. She allowed us to check in early when we we called ahead to ask, politely & appropriately inquired about our plans each morning, and made some helpful insider bar & resto recommendations (at our request) based on the interests we expressed. For example, while we were there we faced parking restrictions (odd/even parking bans for street cleaning), and Deb put signs on the door each day to remind all guests so we could avoid ticketing - but she didn't stay awake (or even home necessarily) to monitor our parking.

We'll definitely go back to West End Inn.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have private bath/on suite. Be sure to inquire about this. (Room 2 DOES have a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clownface3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton OH
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Deb and Scott, the new owners of West End Inn, made every effort to make sure our stay was comfortable. They offered advice on neighboring restaurants and sights of interest. Their gourmet breakfasts were fabulous, served in their bright and decorative dining room. If you like historic charm in a truly historic neighborhood at a suitable rate, this Inn is the place.

Room Tip: There are a variety of room on three floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peru-love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in the West End Inn for 9 days and did not regret our booking for one second. We had a wunderful time and we felt at home. You are very close to the center in Portland (a five minute walk), and you can also use this address to see more of Maine when you have a car. Deb and Scott gave us tips where to go, they were very helpful! When we travel again to Maine/Portland, we will sure go again to the West End Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

What a great B&B! My room was perfect--cozy, warm and quiet. Deb and Scott were wonderful hosts and knew just where to send us whenever we had requests for restaurants and shopping and sightseeing.
Scott's breakfasts were delicious, as were the cookies and muffins.
Wish I were on my way back to Portland, I would be at the West End Inn in a jiffy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Inn

Property: West End Inn
Address: 146 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102-3541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1871 Georgian Style townhouse in Portland, Maine's, Historic District. The West End Inn offers gracious hospitality and elegance with modern convenience (Cable TV, WiFi, Radio w/ipod dock). Near Arts District, museums, Old Port area and award-winning restaurants. Off-street parking. Short drive to State Parks, lighthouses, lobster pounds, and premium shopping. Fly to PWM, drive 2 hours from Boston or take the train, then relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Portland
West End Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing