We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast”
Review of The Farmer's Table - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Farmer's Table
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Mediterranean inspired food utilizing local, sustainable ingredients. Two beautiful outdoor decks in season overlooking the Portland Waterfront. Completely organic and sustainable wine list along with a great variety of locally crafted beers. Serving lunch, brunch and dinner in a very comfortable setting.
Singapore
Level Contributor
275 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Located along Commercial Street so good view to busy harbor street. Service was decent...a bit slow for only 3 tables occupied, but otherwise attentive. Decor is fine, nothing fancy. Bathroom could use improvement.

Ok, so it was only breakfast, but it was really tasty. I had omelette with mushrooms, maple bacon, grilled potatoes, and THICK slices of freshly made wheat bread toasted. I can't vouch for the lunch/dinner menu, but this was really good. I saw them bring out eggs benedict and other items for other tables and they all looked really good.

Maybe a bit of a wait, but it was worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TcarlGren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    26
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why pay for poor service and food?”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The service was slow. We had a reservation and it took over half an hour to be seated. The food looked pretty, but did not measure up to the price they were charging. I have had much better food in good pubs then what was presented here (and for half the price, too). It was not worth the time or money spent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge Disappointment”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Terrible, Awful service. Disorganized. Very lengthly wait for appetizer and entrees. Too overpriced. This was our first visit with friends and we will never return again. Would not recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was fine, and the waitstaff was very good. But when the check was brought to our table, we were asked if we could hurry and pay because another party was waiting for our table. We were not lingering - we had just finished eating and the check had just been brought. Didn't even have desert or coffee. We don't fault our waitress - it was clear that she was just the messenger. I sent an email to the chef/owner the following day at the "comments" address on their website. Never heard back. We're not going back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“High prices”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

On an outing with girlfriends we decided to have a mimosa while out and about in Portland on a beautiful day. We stopped into The Farmer's Table and sat at the bar. It looked like a nice place, we were disappointed the deck wasn't open as it was such a beautiful day, but it was early in the season. So we ordered 3 mimosas. What a let down!! I swear they were no more than 4 ounces, had no fruit whatsoever in it, I can live with that, though an orange slice is nice. The glass was so small, my friend's nose got in her way! Okay, we had to pick the fancy place. So we got the bill and it was over $28.00!!! Are you kidding me? Wow, went down the street to another place and got three 16 ounce mimosas for just over $12.00. Now, that's what I'm talking about. Won't be back at the Farmers Table that's for sure. Oh and they weren't even cordial at all, just threw the drinks in front of us and never spoke to us again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myshorepath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmer's Table also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing