We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local produce and wonderful options ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Chinese Kitchen

Empire Chinese Kitchen
Ranked #16 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local produce and wonderful options ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Was visiting Portland for the day and stopped by the Museum of Art (which is really lovely) and went looking for a late lunch. Ended up at Empire and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lots of seasonal and local gluten free and vegan options. Plus they immediately brought Hot tea - which was appreciated as it was a cool rainy day in April.

Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    67
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Best in the Portland Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

The food here is fabulous. Dumplings and dim sum are their specialty. We had a liesurely lunch with friends and enjoyed ordering a variety of dishes, all of which were either excellent or outstanding. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys Asian food.
The seating was good, service excellent, atmosphere very nice, location in central downtown.
Our friends suggested it, and now we'll be sure to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JTscarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't miss their Dim Sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

At long last, Portland, which has many other great restaurants, has a great Chinese one. If you love steamed dumplings, etc., you will love this . The variety is not huge, but there are at least 6-8 different types. The vegetable side orders- green beans, etc. are to die for.

Do not miss this if you are in Portland.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sophisticated control of flavors.....I need to go back - even if it is 2.5 hours away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stopped in for a light dinner around 8:30pm on a Friday Night. Got seated immediately. Nice selection of beers. My wife and I shared 4 small plates - which were perfect. Honey Walnut shrimp were fantastic. Red cabbage spring rolls were tasty - I asked for some hot mustard for the spring rolls, which they didn't have, so they offered me some hot chili sauce instead, which I accepted. The hot chili sauce was made at the restaurant - and was the most fantastic use of heat in a sauce I have experienced in quite some time. It was a slow, mellow heat that was perfect. The baby bok choy was perfect. The crispy spare ribs were also delicious. Sophie, our waitress, provided great service. Not cheap - but well worth the money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NewportFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
“Can't get enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Luckily I work close by and have been 10+ times. The food keeps getting better and better & offers daily specials . Love that is not american chinese "no chicken fingers here"! Grean beans, Honey Walnut Shrimp are a staple. Highly recommend taking a chance and trying something different you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Chinese Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Empire Chinese Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing