We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portland has a Great Chinese Restaurant!!!”

Empire Chinese Kitchen
Ranked #16 of 621 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Portland has a Great Chinese Restaurant!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a relatively new restaurant on the Portland restaurant scene. I think it opened in September. It is located on the corner of Congress St and Forest Ave. The great thing about this Chinese restaurant is that you can order small plates, dim sum or full entrees. My wife and I started with the Wonton soup and it was very good. Next we had the "Empire Eggroll" with beef pastrami filling. This was followed by the "honey walnut shrimp" which was coated with a citrus japanese mayo (extremely flavorful), next we had the Peking duck buns (steamed buns). Never had such delicious buns!! And lastly we had the pork dumplings, again very flavorful. We totally enjoyed our food and really liked the idea of the small plates/ dim sum options. We ordered all of the above items at once and they came out of the kitchen fairly rapidly. The next time I would order a couple of items then wait till these were digested then order additional items as needed. Waitstaff was very attentive. We even got to speak with one of the owners (Theresa Chan). She was very cordial and inquired about our meals, etc. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    70
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We enjoyed several dishes but liked the Cantonese Flounder especially. We also ordered the duck buns, pork dumplings, pastrami egg roll, vegetable fried rice, and the beef and broad noodles - all were very good. We would highly recommend this restaurant for food, atmosphere, and service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maisouime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am so happy that we have at least one restaurant with Good Chinese Food!
Everything I have tried here was excellent, fresh, perfectly seasoned and delicious.
I highly recommend this place (Fried Flounder is my personal favorite, that was recommended by a friend).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Creative and delicious food”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I went down with my daughter and grandchildren for dinner, everything was wonderful and tasted great. Excellent service for a busy Friday night and everything was fresh, tasted great, and was very inventive. We will definitely be back next time we are in Portland for a meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, MA
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Chinese food with a creative flair - Really Good!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went for lunch on a cold windy day, and we got off to the right start when we were given a complimentary pot of tea while we perused the menu. Who knows how long free tea for lunch will last, but it was a great welcome on a cold day. The restaurant was a bit empty when we arrived, but by the time we left the dining area had filled with lunchtime diners, which we took as a very good sign for this relatively new restaurant. We ordered the Empire Eggroll, good but not great, the only small disappointment of our meal. Good flavor, but the pork, cabbage, and asparagus pieces are cut large enough they don't blend together, and they kept escaping from the egg roll. Nothing that some more judicious chopping won't fix. We had the Chinese roast pork appetizer, and we loved the sweet, crunchy coating on the thin pork slices. We ordered two specials of the day. The Ginger & Vegetable fried rice was delicious, with generous pieces of baby bok choi and asparagus and a wonderful ginger flavor. We asked the waitress whether we should order the Peking Duck steamed buns on the menu or the special Crispy Pork Belly steamed buns from the day's specials, and she said get the special because we can come back and order the standard menu items next time. The steamed buns were good, and the generous filling was even better: thick slabs of fatty pork belly cooked crispy on the outside with a sweet Chinese bbq sauce. Yum! We'll have to go back another day for the Peking Duck Buns. And we will go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Chinese Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Empire Chinese Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing