We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Star to No Star” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond's Edge Restaurant

Diamond's Edge Restaurant
Ranked #119 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Join us on Great Diamond Island for a truly unique dining experience. Located on the property of historic Fort McKinley overlooking Diamond Cove, Diamond's Edge offers a dining adventure unequaled in Maine. Choose our dining room, our deck, our lawn, or something lighter at our bar.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“4 Star to No Star”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Diamond Cove is worth the visit, but just plan on bringing your own dinner! This past weekened we went over to the restaurant at 835pm and we were told that we could only order from the bar menu, mind you there was a table that had sat down 5 minutes before us and had not ordered yet, but they were ordering from the full menu. Since there was another table of 7 still waiting to order, I think it would be fair to ask us to hurry to put in our order as well. The bar menu offered very light fare, if we had known it was going to be such small servings we would have all ordered the burger! We were served two rounds of water, before our waiter even came over to get our drink order! Our bread came out and there were 7 of us, but we were only given 5 rolls and when we asked for 2 more they said they were all out. The staff was hostile the entire time and made us feel as if we were bothering them. It would not have been a problem, if we were at a fast food restaurant, but this is a seasonal restaurant, that should be accommadating to its paying patrons!

After dinner we went over to the bar area and ordered some drinks, they ran out of a certain kind of vodka and tried to substitute without asking what we would prefer and also ran out of many common beers. A large wedding party was there (which most restaurant owners would look at as a profit) and the Red Sox were playing the Yankees (which for those of you who are not sports fans is always a great game to watch) and were kicked out prematurely, and were left to sit out in the parking lot. The game was in the bottom of the 9th and the tv was shut off even before we were told we had to leave.

Overall, this has been the worst experience that we have had at Diamond's Edge and will not be back, unless we are in need of water! For a seasonal restaurant, you should make people want to come back especially since we have family that live on the island and would surely support your business.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyHomeIsYourVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    16
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting...fabulous wait staff...great food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

After taking a lovely 20 minute ferry ride out of Portland ...we arrived at Diamond Cove...the restaurant was great, abit pricy...but worth it...we had what they call BLUNCH...cross between breakfast and lunch...drinks were generously poured and well mixed...our server, Jeremiah, was a TOTAL delight...the food was beautifully presented and very good....the only problem we encountered was they were out of their lobster plate at 2 in the afternoon, so that was disappointing...other than that our party had 4 different meals that were very good ! I would recommend this experience to anyone...make sure the weather forecast is a good one...and enjoy !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gooserocks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very romantic, ok food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

You can't do better for a romantics evening in Portland. Take a ferry ride to an Island for a very special evening. We do this with friends "from away" and it is always a great night. The food is good and the service is ok. Nothing special with either. You're not rushed and have hours to enjoy your meal. Choose deck seating on a warm summer evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimshim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
“A lovely evening expedition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We, a group of three friends, took the ferry from Portland to Great Diamond Island for opening night of the 2012 season at Diamond's Edge. Our evening started with a blueberry cocktail at the bar that I'm going to have to return for. Once our table was ready in the cozy dining room -- busy, but not overly crowded -- we ordered a plate of several kinds of Maine oysters and a Fried Shrimp Cone (delicious tiny Maine shrimp, fries, and tartar sauce) to share. For my main course, I ordered a house greens salad (just the palate refresher I was looking for) and mussels off the appetizer menu (a generous portion, delicious broth). We finished the meal with the signature boozy coffee drink, a perfect sweet end to a great meal, and way to warm up before the chilly boat ride home. All through the course of our visit, the staff was friendly, warm, and responsive. It was a wonderful and delicious expedition -- can't wait to return and share with others!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PortlanderME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Buxton, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Five star romantic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Located on what they call Diamond Cove and what the natives used to call Cocktail Cove, this establishment is located in a historic building on what was once Ft McKinley on Great Diamond Island in Casco Bay. It went to rack and ruin but then the barracks were resurrected into elegant condos -- not that you'll get to see them, They are off limits to casual visitors.
The food is fine, but you don't necessarily come here for the food. It is the experience. Getting there by ferry, water taxi or your own yacht and then going ashore to the restaurant. Candlelight Tables are often set up outside on the lawn overlooking the cove. Could not be more romantic. Great wedding spot.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank CrazyAuntMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond's Edge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Diamond's Edge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing