We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Rude Hostess!”
Review of Five Fifty Five

Five Fifty Five
Reserve with OpenTable
Five Fifty Five is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 640 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oak Street
Description: Steve and Michelle Corry, the proprietors of Five Fifty-Five, arrived in Portland armed with a passionate vision and extensive experience in the restaurant industry. Steve began his culinary career as a brew master at several breweries in Northern California. In 1999, he attended the New England Culinary Institute in Burlington Vermont. After graduating in 2001, he returned to California to work at Domaine Chandon in Napa Valley. A graduate of Boston University with a Bachelor's Degree in Hotel and Restaurant Administration, Michelle Corry has worked at numerous prestigious establishments, including the French Laundry in Napa. Together, they have envisioned a dining experience that would combine a comfortable atmosphere, professional service, and fresh, simple, and delicious food sourced locally. Steve and Michelle Corry would like to welcome you to their first collaborative, Five Fifty-Five.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I'd like to start by stating I am only reviewing the service at this restaurant--we left before we ever tasted any food. 555 was recommended by our hotel concierge who made our reservation. However, it did not appear that we had a reservation and no table was available. After waiting in the restaurant for 10 minutes we told the hostess we would wait outside and walked around the area actually hoping to find another restaurant with no luck. We came back in after about 15 minutes and our table was still not ready. Finally, someone came and took us through the dining room, past the kitchen area where there were stacks of dirty dishes and up a flight of stairs. Our table was waiting for us directly at the top of the stairs and by that point I had had enough. I told the server (different from the hostess) that this table was unacceptable and we left. This incident took place on September 21, 2013.

I have since read glowing reviews and this may be an excellent restaurant. However, with a reservation I would not expect the poor atitude and lack of responsiveness we encountered.

    • Service
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seamusfinn, Owner at Five Fifty Five, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

hello, we are sincerely sorry that you did not have a positive experience at 555. if you have a moment we would love to discuss this with you and see if we can make up for your less than satisfactory evening. it would be helpful to get the name of the hotel, just to ensure there was not a mix up on their end...? of course, either way, it is our policy to seat guests immediately, as no matter whose error it was, the customer should never suffer. certainly, we will use your review as a training tool to ensure that our host/hostesses know how to better handle these situations in the future. we are additionally sorry that you were put in a table you did not enjoy, but i believe the hostess was trying to accommodate you as soon as possible, knowing you were anxious to sit immediately. again, we hope you will give us the chance to resolve this issue and make it up to you,
sincerely,
michelle corry,
proprietor/gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 370 of 700 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

If the brunch I experienced at Five Fifty Five is any indication of their regular experience, I can't wait until my next visit to Portland. Though Portland certainly doesn't lack for brunch options, this one took it to the next level. Plus, they accept reservations for brunch which isn't always the case in Portland. We were treated to a wonderful amuse bouche and various breakfast breads while we sipped on our brunch cocktails. The biscuits and gravy were amazing as the sausage was house made. The Aroostook potato which accompanied my wifes perfectly cooked steak and eggs was delicious and a nice change of pace from typical breakfast potatoes. The service was unrushed, which was nice as we were visiting with family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank musiclover1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were in heaven when we tried the multi-course meal--9 separate offerings in all, and all with a drink pairing! It was all so good that it was hard to find a favorite. Some of my favorites--and mind you I don't care for seafood or eggs--was a deconstructed bearnaise sauce (with an egg on top of all things but so delicious), a scallop and lobster dish that melted in your mouth, and duck confit with a carrot cake like accompaniment which was just the perfect pairing. We would definitely try this again no matter the price.

Thank BobbyNSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We've been to Five Fifty Five many times over the years as residents of Portland and we've never been disappointed. The atmosphere is elegant but relaxed and the food is always outstanding. The menu changes with the seasons, is fresh and imaginative. There are a few restaurants in Portland that get more attention but Five Fifty Five is one of the best. The food is consistently better than the meals we've had at Fore Street, which is more expensive. One of our favorite places!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed a great meal with excellent and attentive service! Inventive and tasty menu and nice decor

Thank Cara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Fifty Five also viewed

 

Been to Five Fifty Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing