We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Samdwiches Anywhere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punky's

Punky's
Ranked #319 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Yarmouth
1 review
“Best Samdwiches Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

They have several of my favorite sandwiches. you can't get better anywhere ! Especially their Italian sandwich. One problem I've had there is that they've run out of sandwich rolls a couple of times that I've been there. They had to use another sandwich chains rolls and they weren't nearly as good as their own.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LargoDave4138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't be jaded--atmosphere isn't everything!! Delicious sandwiches served with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Home roasted turkey served as the special turkey and cranberry sandwich($6.50) or falafel on a tomato wrap loaded with moist and fresh falafel, delicate sprouts, tomatoes, and, if you choose, eggplant ($6.00). I omitted the eggplant and opted for extra falafel. There are local snacks tempting you at the counter: Portland Nuts or Whoopi Pies..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BOYAJIAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“holy smokes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

this is too easy to drive by. Don't! The thanksgiving sub here is the best in the city. Oven roasted turkey breast, not mere deli slices, and all the fixings. Yum

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 457chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Punky's is a MUST for anyone looking for great food on a budget!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Punky's has been one of our family go to places for many years. Don't let the unassuming exterior prevent you from going inside. The menus is vast and the value and quality are great. We especially recommend the breakfast wraps for a hearty delicious way to start the day. Your choice of wrap and breakfast meat scrambled with fresh onions, peppers and tomatoes.
Every weekday at noon Punky's makes fresh hot casseroles and sells large portions for about $5. Some favorites include; turkey dinner casserole, chili and cornbread, and quiche lorraine. Check out Punky's, you will not be sorry!
My only small complaint is that the service can be slow, sometimes inexplicably. Even when not crowded you might wait a little longer than usual for your order, the staff is NOT quick but is generally pretty nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rushmore45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I love everything about this place, there service is awesome and their thanksgiving sub is to die for.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punky's also viewed

 

Been to Punky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing