We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The servers here is great!”
Review of Coffee By Design

Coffee By Design
Ranked #3 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Portland
Description: Coffee By Design, a Maine owned and operated coffee company since 1994, is dedicated to changing the world, one cup of coffee at a time by providing customers with sustainably sourced, traceable coffee. Owners Mary Allen Lindemann and Alan Spear were named Maine SBA Small Business Person of the Year, 2014. In addition to serving some of the world's finest coffee, Coffee By Design is committed to running a sustainable business dedicated to the arts, the environment, and the community.
Restaurant details
Description: Coffee By Design, a Maine owned and operated coffee company since 1994, is dedicated to changing the world, one cup of coffee at a time by providing customers with sustainably sourced, traceable coffee. Owners Mary Allen Lindemann and Alan Spear were named Maine SBA Small Business Person of the Year, 2014. In addition to serving some of the world's finest coffee, Coffee By Design is committed to running a sustainable business dedicated to the arts, the environment, and the community.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The servers here is great!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to CBD for at least 11 years now & not only is the coffee great but the staff is quirky to the extreme. The key to the bathroom always has something odd attached to it. Once it was a My Little Pony figure! This demonstrates the outlook of these shops; of which there are 3 in downtown Portland & another in the LL Bean flagship store.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    32
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellently Roasted Coffee”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Tried CBD at Congress, India, and even in Freeport -- liked it a lot every time. The two roasts I tried were distinct (one darker/stronger, the other milder and fresher). Service was friendly and fast. India St had a better setup for lounging and sipping.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveDeanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Far Superior To Starbucks !!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I dread having to settle for Starbucks - whenever I travel. I am grateful for coffeehouses like CBD. I only wish I would always have an option like this everywhere.

Great selection of coffee, great staff, nice place to enjoy your joe for a while (I was @ the India Street locale by the waterfront)

Several choices of coffee for your iced coffee - nice touch !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahPow4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfectly Brewed Coffee”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Before I went to Portland I had a quick look on the internet and general consensus appeared to be that this was the place the locals flocked to for their coffee, and I can see why. There is a huge choice of coffee beans, syrups and types of drinks. I wanted to just try a regular coffee and it was one of the best I've had on either side of the pond.

I love visiting independent coffee shops and this has got to be a standout for me, the staff were super friendly and the atmosphere was very relaxed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Better than *$”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

CBD has several locations in Portland, all similarly pleasant to get a good cup of coffee on the run, or to meet/work/relax.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaiLogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee By Design also viewed

 

Been to Coffee By Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing