We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch on Commercial Street”
Review of Dock Fore

Dock Fore
Ranked #290 of 614 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Pub
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Portland, ME USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch on Commercial Street”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Dock Fore has been there since I remember. It gathers a varierty of clientele from local workers to lawyers and business people. Good sandwiches and pub fare at lunch, served quickly and withotu fanfare. Wait staff are very friendly. Parking may be the only problem on a busy Old Port day.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillips S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice local hang out, great beer prices”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Walking around Portland this bar/pub was crowded. We went inside, we were the only tourists. Great beer prices on tap. Not a great variety but they have fresh seasonal beer. They do need to clean their chairs. We went back 2 nights in a row.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ORANGECELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's a Bar!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

An actual Bar! everyone here has something in common.... they want to drinkkkkkkk at great prices. It's not a restaurant so stop complaining there is no food. I wouldn't complain in your coffee shop that there weren't any croissants. The beer specials are great! But I always go for the stiff drinks!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mermaidlounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great drink special”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We went here for happy hour. $1.95 20 oz drafts. Need I say more? They do not serve food, so you should be aware of that before heading there. It's great for pre-dinner drinks at a great price. They have a great selection of beers, including lots of local brews (Shipyard, Geary's, etc.).

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcr6fd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Its good but not great”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is a regulars bar and the the food is good and the service depends on your ability to interact with the staff. They do like to establish a relationship and they do not like attitudes.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dock Fore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing