We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About What You Would Expect”

Portland Lobster Co
Ranked #27 of 627 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Yuma, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“About What You Would Expect”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you are the Portland Lobster Company, then your lobster roll should be top notch. It was! I would say it was pricey, but it was $15.99 on the day we went and we saw anywhere from $9-$18 as we went along so it was pretty comparable. The service was a touch slow, but they were super busy. My wife had the onion rings and the shrimp cocktail and was super happy. The fried fare looked super good as they really heaped it on to the plates on neighboring tables. We were also serenaded by a great funky guitar duo on the deck overlooking the harbor. Great fun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilkeCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    605
    243
    96
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lobster rolls!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visited the Portland Lobster Co. during my first visit to Portland. I do not eat lobster, but my friend does so I gave in, and so glad I did.......she said it was the best lobster roll she's ever had! (And she is fussy!!!) Being a non-seafood and shellfish eater, I was still able to find something to eat on the menu. Very cute place, resonably priced and the food was delicious. A must try while visiting Portland!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome lobster!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Sat outside out on a picnic table on their deck, downed a few cold beers, listened to a good Blues band and then dove into PEI mussels (appetizer) and steamed whole lobster. The mussels were great and the lobster was the best we had during our nearly-week long stay in Portland. If your looking for a formal atmosphere, starched white shirts & aprons and crazy prices, you're better off elsewhere (DiMillo's?). But the lobster at Portland Lobster Co. was just plain awesome!! It'll be the 1st place we hit for a lobster dinner whenever we get back to Portland.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dasD71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We sat on the deck near the water and ate lobster and calamari. We ordered at the bar and they gave us a super cute lobster-shaped pager which lit up when our food was ready. Quick service in a casual outdoor atmosphere, but the lobster was wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Girljulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The lobster rolls were pricey, but they had tons of lobster, and were really great. All of the other food that we saw at tables around us also looked great. The view from the deck was also wonderful...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethW--VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Lobster Co also viewed

 

Been to Portland Lobster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing