We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tavern with History”
Review of Old Port Tavern

Old Port Tavern
Ranked #181 of 617 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tavern with History”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The sign outside said this restaurant was called "Shipwreck and Cargo" but receipt said Old Port Tavern so am confused. The restaurant has lots of history and includes part of the original warf in its building. Inside is a bar area with eating and then a wall separating this from another sit down supper meal area. All around the supper area and the separating wall with an archway are large aquariums filled with all sorts of beautiful fish. The ambiance of the restaurant was extremely relaxing. The food was very good and so was the service. We were the only people in the restaurant though as it was mid afternoon. Outside of the restaurant you found plaques displayed telling you the history of the building and also the brick roads. This is a place that I would definitely visit again. (p.s. even the washrooms had character with the stall doors coming from ships)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    53
    27
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing noteworthy”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

It's alright if you just want a few drinks and you don't really care about what you drink. Buds and Millers will probably be satisfied. Foodwise there is nothing exceptional here but not bad either.
The fish tank smells a little, and the ambiance/decor is dreadfull. Too bad because the owner has potential to make this a great place.
Staff was very friendly and made the experience better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An excellent place to eat”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Our first time eating lobster in Maine - and we choose the right place. The girl on front of house was very friendly and helpful, as was our waitress.
The food was of good value but without sacrificing taste - the lobster (of course!) was fantastic.
The decor was nice too - it felt truly authentic. There is a nice bar area too that offers entertainment on other nights.
Our only qualm was that the mains came out too shortly after our starters, leaving us with too much food and not enough space!
But a small qualm in an otherwise lovely restaurant! Thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank TotheMaximas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very good meal!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I ate here. We had steak and salmon... both were very good. The waitress was friendly and helpful... she gave us very good service. The inside decor was interesting to look at, as was the large aquarium.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RJF549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Neat Atmosphere and Food”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This place is surprising when you enter. It does not appear to be much from the outside but after descending the steps you enter into a large bar area and another room for eating. The food was great at a very reasonable price. Service was very good. After 2100 hours it really gets rocking. Not a place for kids unless you arrive between 1700 and 1800.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Port Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Old Port Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing