We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended by all the locals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bull Feeney's

Bull Feeney's
Ranked #52 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Recommended by all the locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everyone we talked to kept recommending this place so we had to check it out. Being Irish, we thoroughly enjoyed the pub! Everyone was so nice, it was loud and cheery- perfect for the Irish! We found a table right away and were able to enjoy the live music.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KME428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    155
    50
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Classic pub atmosphere, very good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Extensive pub menu with many Irish pub favorites, plus other good choices. Delicious potato leek soup. Irish nachos (on potato skins). Fish and chips with fresh haddock was very good. We tasted a number of craft local beers. Rachael our waitress knew the beers well and had great recommendation based on our preferences in brews. Terrific experience, even with a bit of a wait for the food- her service is worth a mention! ( 2nd floor). Live music starting at 9:30, lively crowd! A fun night!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I want to start off by saying I hate beer and don't like pub food in general, so my opinion is very biased. The soda bread was gross. The food was ok. You can do better in Portland if you look around. There are lots of pubs. I would try another one, personally.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Started with the charcuterie of three types of bacon, goat cheese, swiss, and cheddar. All paired well with the honey and granny smith apple. Small portion, but it was only $9. So I would say it was a suitable appetizer for one person.

Disappointed because I was craving a lobster roll, and they didn't have any lobster. Found out almost 20min after ordering. Which I blame on the kitchen for not alerting the server when they ran out/or when the ticket came into the kitchen.

So I switched to a cup leek and potato soup and a half wedge salad. Both satisfying, but not over the moon about either. the leek soup was stringy, which I hadn't experienced that before in other versions of that soup that I have had.

My guest had the bangers and mash. It was one of the better comfort foods I've had in a long time. The cabbage and potatoes were delicious!!! Perfectly seasoned and balance of flavors.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank homeChef4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Geat little pub and good food. The atmosphere was nice. Went there for a pre-wedding mixer. Has a nice upstairs that we had all to ourselves. Great time. Very pleasant staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull Feeney's also viewed

 

Been to Bull Feeney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing