We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We can’t wait to get back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of J's Oyster

J's Oyster
Ranked #25 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We can’t wait to get back!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We ate at J’s Oyster Bar twice. First mid-day just after checking into our hotel, we had had oysters (fresh and locally sourced), a cup of excellently made lobster stew, and, well made cocktails. J’s has a huge U-shaped bar with small tables along the sides of the walls with an outside sitting area - - I am not quite sure why comments are made about it being dark inside - - well, we were there during their daylight hours. On our second visit, we waited with J’s “lunch crowds regulars”; when the door opened at 11:30 the regulars went straight to the bar were their drinks were already made and waiting for them - - that’s cool ! For lunch, we had their lobster roll (served with mayonnaise on the side) with a glass of house wine - - we can’t wait to get back! See our picture taken from the outside eating area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay_Jay_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    495
    170
    84
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, AL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Recommendation on the Waterfront”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

While visiting Portland, on a local's recommendation we stopped in. J's is a small place (often crowded with regulars) on the docks with 8 tables and semi-oval bar (outside seating was closed as this is off season). I liked it immediately. It's definitely a casual, local place with a top notch reputation for fresh seafood. Service was friendly, relaxed and attentive. We started with the St. John's oysters on the 1/2; fresh, briny and cold, really good. We both opted for the steamed lobster with steamed clams and coleslaw. It just doesn't get any better anywhere in Maine. Perfectly steamed fresh lobster and wonderful clams. Our waiter indicated the clams are raked daily not far up the river and do not "spend the night" in the restaurant. Along with drawn butter, crisp coleslaw, a few local draft beers, and clientele happy to be there, what could be better? We came back the next day and sat at the bar for another lobster/clam extravaganza. The "crackers" bartender was friendly, informative and amazingly quick.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AUFan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Steamers”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stopped by this place on the waterfront on a rainy afternoon. Ordered a bucket of steamed clams and a couple of local beers. The place was full of locals and had that warm friendly feel. Great service, large bucket of clams. Did not have dinner but what we saw being ordered looked to be excellent portions and fresh.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is what it is!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a bar that serves good seafood! Nothing has changed here in decades and that is probably all right. Everything is fresh and it was fun to sit outside, even if we watched a rain storm approach. The lobster salad was great and the service was efficient. We got lucky and did not have to wait for a table ... but you should probably plan on doing so. It is worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We waited about 45 minutes for a table, on a Monday, off season. But it was worth it! We had steamed mussels, a lobster chowder, a lobster roll and seafood bouillabaisse - everything was top notch amazing. The bill was affordable and our waitress was friendly and welcoming.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmilyFlushingNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J's Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing