We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayside American Cafe

Bayside American Cafe
Ranked #45 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My adult children who live in Portland picked out this restaurant for brunch for my birthday. It has a funky interior and phenomenal food. From french toast to crab cake benedict to eggs and bacon it was all well prepared and delicious! Get there early for brunch on a weekend - it gets crowded.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sometime_traveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    80
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Early Riser, well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A family member currently lives in Maine, and loves this place for breakfast. The first time we tried to go there, if you don't get there early, you have to wait in line, but if you wait inside, you are welcome to coffee on the house while you wait. This time we got up early and were seated upstairs, this is a quirky place, an old house and old chandeliers and pictures on the wall, the portions are huge, the coffee is good, and the prices reasonable. One pancake was the size of the large dinner plate, the bacon was one inch thick applewood smoked and cooked perfect, the eggs, and home fries were sweet and regular potatoes, they have drinks, special seafood egg options, and homemade bread and corn beef hash, and the waiters are very attentative.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skycaption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
267 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Cozy place, great food and lots of it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a family sit-down at this restaurant recently -- it was a Sunday brunch in fact -- and all five of us agreed the food was wonderful, the service couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful (with directions among other things) and the dining space simply reeked of cozy comfort.

Two of us had omelets and two had frittata; one just had to be different and had the "veggie homefries" -- basically mixed homefries (potato and sweet potato) with roasted veggies on top and then topped off with scrambled eggs. Yummeeee! And large to very large portions so be prepared!

The place was packed with all ages and all groupings (couples, young families, old families, large families) -- the one downside was we had to wait for more than 30 minutes to be seated. But we're used to that here in Providence at Nick's on Broadway, a favorite west side hangout for Sunday brunch. Bintliff's Cafe matched Nick's in every way, shape and form.

Prices were quite reasonable, too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paris-Cemeteries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Try one of the hashes or benedicts with the poached eggs- really a fantastic brunch meal and very satisfying. The self serve coffee in the lobby while you are waiting is very a charming addition!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrazyaboutDiving88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved This Place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great place for breakfast!!!! Best homemade bread I have ever had. Nice thick slices with lots of flavor. Nice presentation of the food. Our waiter was great. On top of his game and very funny. Will defiantly go back there if we visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slickenuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayside American Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bayside American Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing