We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect menu for the Brunch Lover”

Bayside American Cafe
Ranked #44 of 617 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect menu for the Brunch Lover”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Bintiff's American Cafe is a surprise delight for the brunch lover who enjoys a gourmet
meal any time before 1 or 2 PM. We enjoyed the old Portland decour, eating upstairs was a little
like being in a private club. I enjoyed crab cakes benedict, my husband enjoyed the lobster benedict, both priced just about right, not too expensive. Friendly service, with delicious coffee including plentiful refills. Liquer license but we didn't partake on this first visit. Recommended although parking can be challenging.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julianawriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    83
    23
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We have a great time..everytime!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Each time i've been to Bintliff's I've had great food and great service. I just wrote a bad review of somewhere else and thought.. i wish i had gone to Bintliff's instead.. so i decided it was about time to write a good review. Their staff is friendly, accommodating, and the food is always fresh and top of the line. I have never walked away less than satisfied. I would suggest this place as the top Breakfast/Brunch in the greater Portland area!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarmouth maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

breakfast is good dinners ok,nothing special-service a bit slow if you are not a regular.parking is difficult.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bluebellsofmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Corned Beef Hash to Die For”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is one of our favorite brunch stops. Small and intimate, the coned beef hash is prepare in-house with three potato home fries. Servings are generous. The Reuben served in Phylo is exceptional.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillips S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Always a stop when we're in Portland”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

BEST breakfast I've ever had. We go to Portland quite often and we always make sure to stop here at least once. The menu has your typical favorites and some more unique things like egg benny with pesto - YUM! We always get their hash because it's just the best you'll ever find, I usually get an omelette (they have a million fun ingredients) and my husband likes to try an eggs benny. Make the trip here, but try and go earlyish - it's not a small place, but it's so popular, you could wait for 45min. They give you free coffee while you're waiting (score!), but in the winter you may end up waiting outside since the waiting area is really small. Definitely worth the wait though - make a stop here!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bostontraveler318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayside American Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bayside American Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing