We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better go somewhere else”

Amigo's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #394 of 627 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Laval, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better go somewhere else”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

When went there at the opening at 5h30pm and the waitress was already bored and did not seem to want to be there. The smell a bit funny and not very clean. The food was just OK not much then that. The only good thing is they give you free basket of nachos with salsa. I'm pretty sure there is a better mexican restaurant in Portland.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ulric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    7
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This Mexican restaurant is nothing to look at from the outside, but the food and the service was fabulous. The drinks were pricey but delicious. The food was flavorful with just the right amount for dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

the salsa tasted like it was cheep out of a jar and the tacos were expensive for what they were. We only came because we really wanted Mexican food. No need to stop here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShellyLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I thought our food was very good. Service was acceptable. I was delighted with how not gross it was.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jelenybeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“excellent Mexican - casual - great service”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We ate at Amigo's and the food was excellent! The service was excellent. I had the burrito with the Mexican beef, black beans etc....it was a house special. It was amazing!
We loved their salsa with the chips.
This is a very casual place. The food and service are both awesome.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank snow_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigo's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amigo's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing