We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECTION FROM START TO END” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back Bay Grill

Back Bay Grill
Ranked #1 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
380 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“PERFECTION FROM START TO END”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

And it starts the way it always starts, by calling and making a reservation with the finest GM this "reviewer" (and jaded New Yorker) has ever known, Adrian (who tends to every single aspect of the dining experience). It continues - as it did with my wife and me as we celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary there this evening - with outstanding service (by an old friend - Ian - who I would strongly recommend, if possible, as your server) throughout accompanied by truly exquisitely prepared and served food. Regardless of what you order. One word says it all: PERFECTION. I won't bother getting into the details only to say all the details of this outstanding restaurant are top notch all the way and consistently so! No small feat.

Thank you Adrian and thank you Ian.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    56
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
304 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“A Delicious End to a Delightful Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent our last day in Portland touring the city, taking a railroad tour and visiting the art museum. We went to dinner at Back Bay Grill, which was an excellent choice. The owner greeted us at the door and our server was friendly and efficient. The food was delicious. We had read, at their website, about the free parking available in a nearby lot, but that wasn't necessary because street parking (no payment needed) was in abundance next to the restaurant. It was the perfect ending to a good day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The service was wonderful. The foie gras was the best I have had outside of France. The fillet was good but not amazing. Overall wonderful experience and you can sense the quality all around. This wasn't just one lucky experience, they know what they are doing. Go here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mwboyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Notch Dining in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I visited Portland ME for the first time this past weekend and had the extreme good fortune to have been directed to Back Bay Grill by a foodie co-worker in Boston. From start (calling to make a reservation) to finish (as we departed), our experience was top-notch and professional (and also warm and friendly) in every facet. First, do not be put off by this restaurant's less than desirable location away from the old Port. We chose to walk from the old Port, and on the gorgeous evening that it was, it really is quite an easy walk. The restaurant is totally charming both inside and outside - small, intimate and appealing. We were warmly greeted by the manager and directed to a perfect table in the main dining room. From there, we experience nothing but highly professional service and excellent food. The restaurant has a small but interesting craft cocktail menu (which we sampled) and a fulsome and relatively reasonably priced wine list, and we got some great advice from our server who directed us to a fabulous Oregon pinot noir. We had the Maine crabcake and a rabbit pastry dish for first courses followed by the rack of lamb (with surreal "potato salad") and duck breast for entrees - both cooked to medium-rare perfection. We split a semifreddo dessert (excellent) which was presented tastefully with a small candle in honor of my wife's birthday.

I can't say enough about the professional service - dished whisked away promptly, wine poured regularly, food served at an appropriate pace - such a pleasure to experience. This place means business in terms of customer service. We have many tremendous restaurants in Boston but I am of the belief that many of them get over-hyped by the press and often fail to live up to high expectations in terms of both service and food quality. Not so at Back Bay Grill. I thought that I would never find a restaurant that I enjoyed as much as Hen of the Wood in Waterbury VT, but Back Bay Grill is right up there with the best of them. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

After a recommendation, my boyfriend and I decided to try it out and the experience was great!! They have a real appreciation for food with great customer service. Adrian, the manager, was fantastic and so was the bartender Liz (we only sat at the bar). We ordered crab cakes because we had eaten previously but we definitely got more than we asked for! First, they sent out an amuse bouche which was a smoked salmon mousse inside a light, puff pastry. They gave us sourdough bread and butter and then our crab cakes came out, which were cooked perfectly! They were decently sized, with the right amount of crunch and filling. We then had truffle popcorn which was offered at the bar which was very tasty for anyone who enjoys popcorn, you could eat it by the handfuls. Afterwards we got a caramel bourbon ice cream dish for dessert which was also delicious. This is a place that really focuses on the love and craft of the food, without the stuffiness feel, and above and beyond great customer service! I would recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KateO102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Bay Grill also viewed

 

Been to Back Bay Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing