We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Kitchen... and front of house operations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Back Bay Grill

Back Bay Grill
Ranked #1 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch Kitchen... and front of house operations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A group of three of us had dinner at BBG over the Labor Day weekend - two of us were out of town first timers. We were made to feel welcome with greetings and smiles from the moment we walked in. I knew we were in for a good evening when I looked beyond the host station into the open kitchen. The line cooks were performing in front of a near full house with ease and professionalism - not the frantic scene of some open kitchens (that should stay behind walls!). The cocktail, wine and food service were all top notch - from Adrian (the host), to Jesse (our server), to Graham (who was leading the kitchen) - all demonstrated a relaxed, friendly, yet professional style that was reflected in the superb dining experience. The fact that we left knowing the names of all three mentioned should give you an idea of the atmosphere and confidence of staff. Go - and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    57
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, better service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

General Manager, Adrian, and his team are exceptional in making you feel like you are among their most significant, long time Customers. Food was terrific. Dessert off Bete Noire was special. Thanks Adrian and team for a great evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiveLoveEatWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Fabulous food, great cocktails, and terrific service. Loved every bit of it. This is a great place for a special evening of dining. Bob Apetit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MACTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must when in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We live in Portland and enjoy BBG every other month or so. We have never been disappointed. Quite the opposite. This is probably our FAVORITE restaurant in Portland. Great food and impeccable service. While it's not in the immediate downtown area (it's just down from the main post office), it's easy to find parking on a side street. Don't try to walk in. BBG is popular. Make a reservation. My husband says he's had his best martini prepared here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeboWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over the Top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been vacationing in the Sebago Lake area for 32 years. Each year we make a pilgrimage to Portland to try out the excellent restaurants. Our recent dinner at Back Bay Grill was one of, and possibly the best of those visits. My pappardelle with shredded roast pork was both innovative and excellent. My wife's lamb two ways was equally excellent. The highlight however was two minor touches. Back Bay served a cheese gougeres as an amuse-bouche. When it was mentioned that my wife was lactose intolerant, it was almost instantaneously replaced with a fig with balsamic.(I grabbed the offending gougeres. It was excellent. Later our waitress noted that all of the menu's dessert offerings had dairy. She offered to have a mix of fresh fruit and (non-dairy) sorbet prepared. My wife excepted her offer, and once again it was excellent. We try to go to different restaurants on our annual trips, but we will definitely be back to the Back Bay Grill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaKing350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Bay Grill also viewed

 

Been to Back Bay Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing