We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blah.”

Margaritas Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #396 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentically delicious food and drinks made fresh to order daily. Art and furnishings handcrafted in Mexico. For family, friends and community, the fiesta starts here. It's like being in Mexico without getting on a plane.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
118 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Blah.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place has never impressed me, but the last time I went I ordered some type of chicken tacos... inedible. Seriously, embarrassing. ZERO flavor. Just awful.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CrownofStorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    12
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
535 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I go to Margaritas quite often for Excellent Mexican dining. The service there is average at its very best. But the food trumps the service so I go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MRVEGAS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too bad..............used to enjoy this restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Last 3 experiences at this restaurant have been very consistent.....................good food, bad attitude and service. In fairness, the visits have been over a 6 month period, but still no excuse for such bad service. The most recent visit was prior to a Seadogs game and we sat at the bar. The bartender was clearly having a bad day and apparently he thought he'd show that with his unfriendliness toward the 2 of us. The previous 2 visits were in the dining room where the service was unbelievably slow with no explanation or apologies from the wait staff. For a restaurant that has become very corporate, it's a shame what they're letting slip through the cracks. The only reason this restaurant gets and average rating is the food. Best Mexican in Portland.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patriotfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Ordered "Tio's Mexican Combo" and what a waste of $! It looked bigger on the menu, especially the burrito and enchilada portion of it. I had asked the waitress if the taco salad would be the better bang for the buck and she said no, but she was mistaken. Not only is the taco salad $4 less, but one in our party could only finish half of it! The TMC would be eatable by a young kid and was $15! Do not waste your $ on anything that sounds too cute. Either a careless cook prepared the TMC and an on the baller prepped the Taco Salad, or the TMC just has a much higher profit margin, but something was totally off. Many of their dishes are overpriced and topped with way too much cheese! Besides calories, sodium, and saturated fat, a little goes a long way. I think they make the interior decor interesting, but the food isn't on par. Lastly, they still use canned tomatoes for salsa and in many dishes; canned tomatoes are bad news health wise.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pH2Oville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not enough servers on a concert night.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Went to Margaritas in Portland Maine on March 1st, 2012 on a concert night at the Civic Center. Lines were long, many open tables and not enough servers. Not good at all. Waited two hours left without eating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cmurch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaritas Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Margaritas Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing