We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fore Street

Fore Street
Reserve with OpenTable
Fore Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Franklin and Pearl
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This restaurant has to be one of the nicest in Portland. We were a group of 4 and each ordered something different. We all agreed it was the best meal of our entire trip. fore Street was actually featured on the Travel Channel with Andrew Zimmern. Side note, if you like Foie Gras, have it here!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    965
    325
    161
    79
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We took our daughter to Fore Street in Portland to celebrate her 30th birthday before we left Maine after a week long vacation. It was one of the most enjoyable and relaxing dinners we have ever had. The food was outstanding, the service extremely attentive and the atmosphere was just lovely. I would highly recommend Fore Street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Was unable to get a reservation on short notice and did not feel up to waiting 3 to 4 hours for an opening so we did the bar and appetizer thing. The waitress (Jackie) was very friendly and speedy. Had the mussels and a trio of smoked meat and fish with a couple of reasonably priced nice wines. As noted elsewhere the bread was excellent! A very nice experience all in all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RTBUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Liz the hostess squeezed us in Sunday night at 8.30pm for my wife's birthday. The service could not have been better and the atmosphere is fantastic- open kitchen, lots of character, and knowledgeable staff. Tomato tart is delicious and the chocolate tort is quite amazing. It is a bit pricey but worth it. I withhold 5 stars only for world class restaurants, but I doubt you'll be disappointed here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The food is much better than the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited Fore Street based on reviews we had read about it being one of the best restaurants in Portland.

The food was certainly excellent, though based on our choice and the tables near us, avoid ordering the vegetable side dishes. The wait staff made it sound like the dinners were a la carte, without sufficient accompaniments, which wasn't true. We were not impressed with the side we ordered and the table next to us didn't like the side they ordered, and in both cases a complaint ended up with the dished removed from the bill.

Everything else we ordered was delicious, but everything came too quickly. When I eat in a restaurant with excellent food I want to savour my meal, not feel rushed so that they can give the table to the next people in line. For the prices that they charge, the service should be better.

As good as the food is, there are several good restaurants in Portland, and I would try something else on my next visit to town before coming back to Fore Street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMom259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fore Street also viewed

 

Been to Fore Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing