We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Too Loud to Enjoy It”
Review of Fore Street

Fore Street
Reserve with OpenTable
Fore Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 627 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Franklin and Pearl
Port Clyde, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food - Too Loud to Enjoy It”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were anxious to try the Fore Street restaurant in Portland and found the service was excellent, the facility a little funky but clean and comfortable and the food very good. I cannot say I will ever go there again as the ambient noise was abominable, painful, incessant and distracting from the entire experience. I had to literally yell at my wife to have any discussion and practically scream at the waiter to place the order. Oh...it was very pricey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,035
    348
    169
    83
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great execution experienced darkly”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Hope your cellphone has a flashlight app. Best mussel prep west of France. Reality kitchen dances well together; best of all food doesn't wait around to be noticed by waiter and served tepid. Service, other than maitr'd'oh trying hard to ignore you ten minutes after reservation clocked out, felicitous sans swarm .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cinziajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a good value for the money”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food was very well prepared but Portland has many excellent restaurants that are not as expensive and also include at least a vegetable with your main course. The reputation of Fore Street seems to be based on its earlier food service (we used to eat there more often) When they were just getting started they included a full meal. Our last experience required us to pay for each item a la Carte- it is not a good value- tables are crowded and the restaurant is fairly noisy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dab_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food and Ambiance Missed the Mark”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went to Fore Street based on the great reviews and recommendations that we had received. Our experience did not live up to our expectations.

We were seated in a back room just around the corner from the pizza oven. Unfortunately, the temperature where we sat was uncomfortable. The chairs in the main room looked comfortable. Ours were definitely not.

The restaurant had said they would accommodate dietary needs such as gluten-free. The accommodation turned out to be removing items from dishes without providing an alternative. For a high-end restaurant, one expects the ability of the chef to have creative alternatives. The waiter was very helpful, but the chef was recalcitrant. The waiter offered to have the manager intervene, but it wasn't worth it.

The highlight of the meal was the mussels that were prepared in the oven. Some of the smokiness made it into the mussels. Most of the dishes were bland.

Overall, the experience was not worth the cost.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solid food but rushed uneven service”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I descended upon Portland during the busiest weekend for the city: camp visiting weekend. We booked Fore street and Street & co for our two dinners 2 months in advance to ensure we would get in during the overpopulated weekend. We had read about the James Beard Award, the top 16 resturant in the country ranking and watched a very enticing piece on the food network on the restaurant. In short, we were quite excited to dine at Fore st.
We arrived 10 minutes before our scheduled reservation and were seated promptly. On our way to our table, pass the open kitchen, the aromas wafting in the air reassured us this would be a terrific dining experience. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable. The wine list was extensive and very reasonably priced with few wines exceeding $100. The featured Chenin Blanc we ordered was delicious. Unfortunately, things began to unravel when 5 minutes after we ordered, before we could take in our surroundings, the basket of bread arrived accompanied by my wife's fettucini appetizer but not with my moulard of foie gras. The latter appeared 5 minutes later when my wife had finished half of her appetizer for which she had not received a necessary spoon. The fettuccine accompanied by exotic mushrooms in a basil-pesto sauce was solid but not memorable. The foie gras was delicate and delightful, easily spreadable over the provided toasted minibaguette. Twenty minutes had elapsed since we had arrived and we were through the appetizers. Our hope that we would be given some time to enjoy our wine, watch the activity in the inviting open kitchen and check out what our surrounding diners were eating was truncated when less than 10 minutes after our plates were removed, the main course arrived. Our immediate thoughts were that they wanted to move us along so that the next couple could be seated. However, despite all the hype, there were no hordes of people waiting to be seated. In fact, for a Friday dinner during the busiest weekend of the year, the front of the restaurant and the adjacent eating bar were very subdued.
My wife's flounder on a bed of mushrooms was very good and generous, again, without being memorable. My wood-smoked lobster out of the shell, the most expensive item on the menu at $40 was excellent. Given the size of the tail and claws I did wonder however how they could get away with serving a lobster that must have been in its infancy. The accompanying portion of sweet corn was not sweet but passable. The side dishes of garlic roasted mashed potatoes and heirloom tomatoes were succulent. Fifty minutes after arrival we were ready to order our check and felt somewhat cheated from what we hoped would be a terrific dining experience.
In all likelihood, we will be returning to Fore street a year from now expecting a more appropriately timed service and an opportunity to try new items from the ever changing farm to table menu that has garnered Fore st high acclaims in the gastronomic world.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dgcts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fore Street also viewed

 

Been to Fore Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing