We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, way too noisy”
Review of Fore Street

Fore Street
Reserve with OpenTable
Fore Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 627 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Franklin and Pearl
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good food, way too noisy”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have eaten at Fore Street several times, without ever enjoying the experience. The food is good and I would have rated the restaurant higher except for two things; it has the reputation of being one of the best places to eat in Portland, a totally undeserved reputation, and the atmosphere is so incredibly noisy it is impossible to have a conversation. Also, as most of the neative reviews point out, the service is poor, one waits forever for their order and the wait staff are not very pleasant. The only other restaurant I know of in Portland that is even noisier than Fore Street, is Street and Company, which has the same owner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePurpleProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,037
    348
    169
    83
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“great vibe and food”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Terrific spot and Portland with excellent food and service, o-pen kitchen concept, great presentation, fresh local produce, superb seafood and local beer selection. Very NYC-like feel. Remarkable place in a city with quite a few nice restaurants

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexshulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I come here every year and this year was the best yet. The halibut was awesome and the mussels are great every year. Tried the pork belly and loved it too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hello1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As good as they say!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Loved, loved, loved the food. Original, inventive and perfectly executed. I could LIVE on the stuffed squash blossoms...OMG so so good...wish there were more than 2 on the plate. We also shared the mussels, which we enjoyed. My husbands pork chops were to his liking and I ordered the flank steak which was good - however I wished I had ordered the 1/2 chicken which looked sooo good. Service was very good as was the ambiance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KnLFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Cannot imagine a better dinner than the one we enjoyed July 1. Friendly greeting, wonderfully warm atmosphere, and excellent service. The clams to begin were transcendent and each course thereafter superb. We ordered a pricey wine which was only twice the cost of the same bottle in our local wine shop. Perhaps a move to Portland is in order.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ctfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fore Street also viewed

 

Been to Fore Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing