We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every moment was worth years of anticipation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fore Street

Fore Street
Reserve with OpenTable
Fore Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Franklin and Pearl
Vermont
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Every moment was worth years of anticipation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I don't know why we never made it to Fore Street in all the years of living in Boston or Vermont, but when we did, for a special Valentine's Day treat, it was wonderful. We arrived early on a busy night but were warmly greeted and seated about ten minutes ahead of reservation. In the meantime we had a drink in the welcoming bar. Our waitress was the best - friendly, knowledgeable, professional, helpful, and unobtrusive as appropriate. We had spectacular oysters, a fine fois gras terrine, and in-season Maine shrimp on the best grits ever. Our entrees were magnificent, a wood oven roasted halibut and a spit-roasted chicken, along with a side of beets that tasted like dessert and a dessert plate for two with one chocolate treat even more delightful than the others. Pure delicious indulgence!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank josjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    324
    161
    79
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
231 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“All a matter of expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had been wanting to go to Fore Street for some years and finally had the chance to do it. I think we were expecting nearly perfect, but we didn't quite find it. It is a nice place and we ate at the bar and had great service. The cold seafood platter, although small, had good tastes. The mussels were great. I had the halibut with turnips and pork/ham cubes. The fish was good but the whole dish was so extremely salty it was nearly inedible. My husband had the famous grilled pork loin. We did NOT try to have it cooked any other way than the chef recommended, but it was still hard, dry, and nearly tasteless, although huge, so we took some home. (It was better in sandwiches the next day.) The chocolate profiterole was great, though. It was expensive, but we did expect that. Still, it would be helpful if even a sample menu with prices could be on the website.

We'll probably go back to Street & Co. the next time we are in Portland, even though I hear they have the same ownership.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just had dinner there Sunday night based on a recommendation from a friend. We expected a great meal and expected to pay for it. The meal, service and general ambience exceeded our level of expectation. We found a great wine at a reasonable price. The mussels were fabulous except that my bread kept dropping in the sauce by accident. The combination of seafood and boar sounded a bit "much" but the flavor was awsome. The blood orange cheesecake was fabulous. If you are lucky enough to see it on the menu.....get it! The pleasant surprise was that the courses were served promptly, without being rushed and portions were generous. All in all, it's a great place for a celebratory evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravel1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, BUT .....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

There are many good things to say about Fore, but it is not keeping up with the times. There is not a single vegetarian entree on the menu. Many of us are becoming vegetarian for our health, or because of concern for our world. We have no place here. Too bad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SketchbookinHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous depending on your order”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Three of us ordered fish:, hake, scallops, and Arctic char. All came with perfect potatoes, really the best two potatoes I've ever had. Hake lacked taste. Other two were perfect and all came in a caste iron pan from the oven, which really enhanced the flavors. Did not enjoy the waiter recommended bottle of Pinot , too acidic. Sides are small but plenty since they already give you sides. Enjoyed the squash mash and mashed potatoes. Not sure that two sides for three people were necessary, we didn't finish either but our entree plates were empty!
Also ordered oysters and some other appetizer . And they bring bread. And the chocolate dessert was great. All portions are small and we ordered a lot. So very high bill, $72 just for one person sharing one bottle of wine! So don't let them push you to order too much unless you want to keep eating well and you order the right items.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank golisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fore Street also viewed

 

Been to Fore Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing