We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian food”
Review of Tandoor Restaurant

Tandoor Restaurant
Ranked #247 of 621 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Good food, nice service, reasonably priced. We came for a one day travel, incidentally entered for lunch that we were happy with, we returned for a dinner....

Helpful?
Thank jim-masachusets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worst Indian food I've ever had”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Warning, warning! We went here one night and experienced the worst Indian food ever. Read my happy reviews of may other Indian establishments ... I'm a fan and this is the opposite. The curry was salt, salt, salt and tepid to cool. The Biryani was a fried-rice joke. We left after a few bites. How does this place garner good reviews?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulOfMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chicken tikka masala”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

A really good dinner out. The Naan is warm and the sauces that come with it are always fresh and yummy. Ordered the chicken tikka masala and was not disappointed. Love how they adjusted the spiciness for me without an issue. I will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“glad we tried it!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

as a regular diner in Portland, I thought I knew all the hidden gems. Yesterday we discovered tandoor & I'm so glad that we did. If you can overlook the 'over the top decor', you are in for a treat. Excellent authentic indian dishes, spiced to perfection. I've walked by so many times & so pleased we decided to give it a try. We'll be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maineviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and nice place”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Delicious Indian food, small but very nice place and good prices+service- we highly recommend Tandoor Restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jflemmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tandoor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing