We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tandoor is consistently good.”
Review of Tandoor Restaurant

Tandoor Restaurant
Ranked #246 of 622 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Madawaska, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Tandoor is consistently good.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was in Portland for four months, years back and I happened to stumble in on the Tandoor. I was hooked. I worked in the Old Port so I was able to come back and eat lunch just about every day. I sampled all the meat entrees on the luch menu and never was disapointed. The meals are very affordable and you're given good portions of delicous food. For supper, I usually have the chicken tikki masala and a garlic naan.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Dumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine, United States
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ho hum”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lunch... shrimp curry and a vegetarian dish... nothing special.... a bit of an odd taste in the sauce... nan was good but somewhat greasy... service was a bit slow....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine
2 reviews
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants. We usually order nan and the butter chicken which are both delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYTraveler2011468Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Better than ever!

My family has eaten countless times at Tandoor. Its convenient location – right in the heart of the Old Port district – and blessedly tv-free dining room and cosy ambiance have always been good enough reasons to drop in. Besides which, we all love Indian Food.

But our latest meal there was a delightful surprise!

The menu offers the usual Indian fare and this time we didn't step out of our comfort zone and ordered butter chicken, lamb kebab, garlic naan and spinach saag. Wow! Our very first bite of naan stopped us dead in our conversation. (In a good way.) This simple Indian staple was supremely tasty. We'd no sooner begun that when our food arrived. The service remained attentive and fast throughout the meal.

Each meat dish was extraordinarily seasoned and excellent. Fragrant, subtly nuanced and well, simply scrumptuous. Markedly better than the more-than-acceptable food we'd eaten at Tandoor previously.
Our server confirmed that they have a new chef. May he or she remain happily ensconced there for years.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sometimesievencook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exotic atmosphere, great customer service”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Small restaurant, great dishes. Stellar customer service. I highly recommend the lamb vindaloo and coconut soup! The mango lassi is delicious! Perfect for first dates!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kayla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tandoor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing