We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep fried lobster”

DiMillo's on the Water
Ranked #17 of 614 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our restaurant actually floats, and because it is surrounded by water, every table offers spectacular views of Portland Harbor. Our outside decks are great spots to see the sights while enjoying a meal or cocktail. Maine lobster is what we do here and we do it better than anyone.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deep fried lobster”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Went to Maine for vacation and visited Portland for the day. Came across menu and saw deep fried lobster. Sooooo good. Good portions.filling

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rschwartz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    715
    281
    95
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“GREAT EVERY TIME”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We first ate at Demillo's in 1978 on a vacation from Indiana. They weren't on the water at that time. The tables had poker hands modge podged into them and the room had an overall nautical theme. We liked it so much, we went there again on another vacation in 1984. This time they were on the boat in the harbor. We weren't disappointed as the lobster was terrific and the atmosphere superb. It has now been almost 30 years since we've been to Maine and live in Florida. We made a special trip out of our way just to eat there again. Our trip was to Bar Harbor and Greenville, Maine. We arrived at around 5:00 to dine and were greeted with bumper to bumper traffic. It required a little patience, but we took advantage of their free parking and escaped the traffic problems with easy access to the boat. The restaurant was just as we remembered and was beautiful both inside and out. It's great to watch the boats and ships come in and out of the harbor during the entire dinner. Our meals were fantastic, along with the service, and they had a special before 6:00 which was unbelievably reasonable. We had haddock and lobster. My wife's meal came with bread pudding which was super in addition to being more than both of us could finish. I would say this restaurant is one of the best places we've ever had a dinner and we eat at all the Disney restaurants on a regular basis. I would highly recommend it. Try to get there before 6:00 for their wonderful specials.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 19NH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We picked De Millos for its location on the water, good food, convenient parking (free during your meal) and indoor/outdoor seating options. Waitress was very attentive. The lobster was great. Enjoyed the Haddock. Fish soup was perfect. We will return...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patch Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food and service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

it's in the middle of Portland, Maine. Nice setup in an actual ship. Very elegant. Food was really good. Service was good as well. A little pricey. Portions were normal size. would definitely go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
1 review
“Terrible service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went to DiMillos twice. The first time we noticed that we would be running out of drinks and had to ask for a refill, our appetizer plates were never removed when the entree was brought in and the entree plates were still there when the bill was brought. We attributed it to a poor server and wanted to give it abother try since the location is beautiful and convenient. The second time we had a different server and we had the same experience. The extra plate was never removed, we had to flag her down to get refills, when she brought the main course and we were done with the appetizer for a few minutes, she only removed whatever was in the way of the main dish and left everything else there, when we asked for the bill, the plates were still there even when we received it. The conclusion that we made is the fact that the prices are high, food is so so, but service is just no good. It does not appear like the management provides proper training or is watching the servers. Would pass.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james_d753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiMillo's on the Water also viewed

 

Been to DiMillo's on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing