We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How Portland Does Lobster” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DiMillo's on the Water

DiMillo's on the Water
Ranked #18 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our restaurant actually floats, and because it is surrounded by water, every table offers spectacular views of Portland Harbor. Our outside decks are great spots to see the sights while enjoying a meal or cocktail. Maine lobster is what we do here and we do it better than anyone.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
475 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“How Portland Does Lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This landmark waterfront restaurant was all class. From when we walked down the ramp to when we left its attentive service pampered us, its culinary flair excited us, and its maritime ambiance left us breathless. We’d been told to expect no less than the best and in many ways we got it. Paid parking was on the wharf lot. We were led quickly to a table after a well-handled high-season line ahead of us. Our table looked out on Portland Harbor, but it wasn’t an especially scenic view. Our server pushed hard for the house specials, but was fast and cordial for the rest. We both had house salads, which were crisp and crunchy. We splurged for a bottle of sauvignon blanc and a pair of steamed lobsters — fresh off the boats in the Harbor we were told. Being familiar with the ritual art of it, after dipping the meat in ramekins of melted butter we finished them in no time. The domestic wine was just the right match too. We enjoyed our dinner here and have suggested it often to friends from away.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mainemountainbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    872
    697
    278
    94
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Port Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed a lazy lobster dinner recently, mainly because of the lovely setting and views and the attentive staff. The food was disappointing, however. The lobster was swimming in butter--far too much to ingest in one meal. It would have been preferable to have the butter on the side. The vegetables were pedestrian---overcooked broccoli, boiled potatoes. The bread was store-bought (or so it looked)---slices of italian bread.I would not hurry back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank valbill071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great view of the Portland waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have eaten at Demillo's numerous times, and the food and service are always very good. It's main attraction is it's view of the Portland waterfront - it's hard to beat a floating restaurant on the coast of Maine! If you're looking for a nice dining experience with a great view, you can't go wrong by choosing DeMillo's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tourist TRAP!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I went with a business group of 25 - but when I told some local friends where we were eating I got an eye roll on every mention.

Don't get me wrong - this place is a Portland institution. And the. Whole Maine lobster is to die for - but if you are looking for something else - it's mediocre

I had my fill of lobster on this trip and ordered the steak - and had to send the 1/4 inch piece of meat back to the kitchen as it was COOKED! CHARRED!

My French onion soup was excellent! My co workers all enjoyed the whole Maine lobster!

They tell me that in the summer months it has a two hour wait???? And no - the boat doesn't move!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank IrvingtonVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food if you can handle steep prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The ambiance of DiMillo's is obvious. Sitting in the dining room, you can see boats docked all around you and the linen service is quite good. I had the clam chowder, tried some of my colleague's crab cakes and had the lobster mac 'n cheese for an entree. All of it was delicious.

The crab cakes cam with a zesty sauce that had some heat to it, but wasn't overpowering. The chowder was thick, but smooth and had decent-sized chunks of clam. The lobster mac was fantastic. The sauce was a bit on the thin side, the but the baked breadcrumbs on top gave it a nice crunch. There was A LOT of lobster meat in the dish and the taste was divine. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiMillo's on the Water also viewed

 

Been to DiMillo's on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing