We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lobster, Decent Service”

DiMillo's on the Water
Ranked #18 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our restaurant actually floats, and because it is surrounded by water, every table offers spectacular views of Portland Harbor. Our outside decks are great spots to see the sights while enjoying a meal or cocktail. Maine lobster is what we do here and we do it better than anyone.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lobster, Decent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had the Lazy Lobster which is just a bowl of lobster floating in butter. Brilliant! The drinks were good too. Nice atmosphere. You are on a boat but it feels more like a comfortable yacht club. Nice fire in the fireplace. Dark wood.

Service was fair but nothing special. Had a hard time with the northestern accent. But he kept drinks coming and the food arrived on time. So I'd suggest it to anyone in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ivode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    704
    279
    94
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Although the restaurant does not accept reservations, they will tell you when you call what you can expect for a wait. This was helpful for us as we had a party of 8. They were able to accommodate us within 45 minutes. The atmosphere was fun and inviting and we all had a great time! We had great service, food, and ambience; definitely would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khagerty2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“dinner date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had gone on a dinner date with my husband here, the locals are very familiar with the marina on the water. We had to try it, the food was great, service was excellent, it was a wonderful meal and we would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank rs_929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great lobster and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a fantastic lobster lunch on this 'floating' restaurant build in a large cruise ship in the harbor. Certainly built for tourists, meaning everything is comfortable, the service is great, the food is what you expect from a restaurant on a boat in the Portland harbor, great atmosphere & decoration, and you pay a little more than a locals spot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of our best dinners.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first time at DeMillo's. We were in Portland with no idea where we were going to eat. What better choice than a floating restaurant. We didn't have a reservation, and just walked right in. We were greeted and told it would be about 20 minutes. No problem, we would make ourselves comfortable in the bar. We weren't in there anymore than 10 minutes and they came to take us to out table. After a wonderful dinner, one of our best ever, we returned to the bar for after dinner drinks and some live entertainment. Just a wonderful night

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiMillo's on the Water also viewed

 

Been to DiMillo's on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing