We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh sushi”
Review of Benkay Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Benkay Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Quesnel, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

i used a groupon for a Sunday lunch and am so impressed. The rock and roll was probably one of the best sushi rolls I have had and the volcano roll has an amazing presentation and taste. The servers were attentive, my water glass was never empty and the service was very quick for being fairly busy. I will be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    54
    17
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Maine, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Neighborhood pleasure”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I frequent BenKay with friends and family and always find it consistent and enjoyable. During the week they offer Bento boxes for lunch that always include a good hot protein and a piece of tempura shrimp as well as a sushi roll. The ramen noodle soups are enormous tureens filled with flavorful broth. The sushi is always fresh and specialty items, such as Uni are available (see the board at the door). The wait staff is consistently pleasant and knowledgable. My only carp is the persistent use of surimi, or fake crab made from pollack, especially in a state where real crab is plentiful. Guess I have to eat at the bar to correct that the next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi Great Service”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were in Portland for work and a store clerk recommended Benkay when we asked about local sushi. My companion is new to most sushi and a bit skittish about trying new things but after tonight's dinner I think she will try anything I suggest. We had the 3-Flavor Appetiser with Salmon Ceviche, Seared Tuna and Red Wine Scallops and she was surprised at the tasty flavors. We then tried to new rolls for her and two cooked rolls that she felt safe ordering. She liked them all and it only reflects well on the cuisine. Server was knowledgeable very friendly. If you crave sushi in Portland I would recommend this to both seasoned sushi lovers and newbies.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Sushi, OK Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The sushi at Benkay was delicious,although I thought they could offer a wider selection of rolls. My wife and I each had three rolls, and the portions were just the right size. The Spider Roll and the Rainbow Roll were very good. The atmosphere was nothing special, typical sushi restaurant. The sake selection was large but most of it is served cold and we prefer hot sake. Overall, we would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved the volcano plate”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Delicious! We will be back for the volcano plate. I didn't care for their dumplings, just personal preference.

We used a groupon with no troubles and the service was great.

Prices were not bad.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benkay Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing