We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great activity when in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maine Brew Bus

The Maine Brew Bus
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Portland Maine Suds and Spirits Tour
Ranked #1 of 25 Food & Drink in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to The Maine Brew Bus. Maine's Original Brew Bus proudly offering Brewery Tours in Portland, Maine and beyond! Whether you're an amateur or a connoisseur, you'll want to join us on The Maine Brew Bus for a unique experience discovering Maine's booming craft alcohol scene. We'll introduce you to your new favorite beer plus the friendly faces responsible for its production. We're more than just a designated driver, we're your expert tour guides on an all-inclusive adventure. Tours are led by knowledgeable guides and feature stops at Maine producers, including breweries, distilleries, wineries, bars, and more, showcasing the best our local scene has to offer. Most tours feature a local snack or meal, trivia, behind-the-scenes experiences, and of course delicious beer and beverages!
Dracut, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great activity when in Portland”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I went for my birthday in May. We did the Beast of the yEast Tour. It was a great time. The guides were fantastic, everyone on the tour was a lot of fun. The stops on the tour were great, good beer, mead and kimbucha and a lot of good information. Great atmosphere and a lot of fun. Would love to try some of the other tours when back in Portland.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Corey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwlittle, Manager at The Maine Brew Bus, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on one of more popular tours. And your TripAdvisor review was our 100th in just under one year, nice work! The Beast of the yEast tour has lots of variety with all the different stops, and now you know much more about kombucha. We look forward to welcoming you aboard when you visit Portland again. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    44
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent Adventure!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

For Christmas last year, I got my dad tickets for the Maine Brew Bus. He is a beer lover and history buff, and it was SO much fun to be carted around Portland to learn about the breweries and other cool pieces of Portland's history. It was well worth the price and we plan to take a friend in August! Our tour guides, Don & Adam, were friendly and knowledgeable and made sure we had everything we needed. There were vintage lunch boxes on the bus with water and "scorecards" so we could keep track of where we'd been and what we'd tried. The pours were generous at each stop and we had a great time! Cheers!

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwlittle, Manager at The Maine Brew Bus, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Wow, you really took care of Dad on this one! Glad that you all enjoyed the aspects of Portland and our alcohol history (both good and bad). And the beer of course too! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the tour, and we look forward to seeing you again later this summer. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
1 review
“My Christmas present in May”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Last Christmas my daughter and daughter in law gave me a trip on the Brew Bus as a present. Last weekend we took the tour. We had a ball. Our guide Don and our driver, Adam added to the experience. They were both entertaining and informative. I drank plenty. I learned more! If you are coming to Portland on vacation or if you are a native like I am, I strongly recommend spending an afternoon on the Brew Bus!

I already know what I want for Christmas this year!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 97Billv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwlittle, Manager at The Maine Brew Bus, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
So glad that your Christmas present was the right size and color, and that it fit so nice! We enjoyed having you aboard, and glad that you were able to learn so much. We tell folks who live in the area that our tours are the best way to really learn about the growing Maine beer scene. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Maybe for a birthday present...Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Happy Hoppy Time”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

If you want to sample some of Portland's fine craft breweries, this is a great way to do it. We went to four places, two well establishes and two more recent. Don, our tour guide, was knowledgeable and very entertaining, making the experience of getting to the breweries as much fun as sampling the beer once we got there. At the mid point of the tour, we combined beer tasting with lunch. Everything is covered in the price of the tour. You can visit these places by yourself, but it was more fun doing it with a group and not have to drive to the places yourself.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob-in-Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwlittle, Manager at The Maine Brew Bus, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Nice job! You captured the essence of what we do! We can provide safe, pre-arranged opportunities to visit the breweries in Maine. So many people know the existing breweries, but the new ones are much harder to find. On our different tours we now go to all of them in Southern Maine!

And we love pairing a couple of large companies with a couple of smaller ones. You can really see the differences that way. Thank you again for choosing us for your adventure in the big city of Portland. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our Friday afternoon tour of a variety of producers of beverages was beyond our expectations. We started off at the Thirsty Pig with tastings of beer and homemade sausage (amazing) while meeting our tour leader and bus driver. Then we headed off to a place that manufactures mead (tasted 7 and bought 3 bottles), a place that makes kombucha and hard cider, a brewery and finally a distillery that manufacturers all their liquor with a barley base! Tastings were all done with owners or knowledgeable staff and we felt very pampered with the tours. The key is knowing that when you go tasting (any alcoholic beverage) you need to stay hydrated (with water) and know your limits. It was made all the more fun by the fact that everyone was there to learn, not get drunk! We can't wait to try another tour on our next trip to Portland!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mentormom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwlittle, Manager at The Maine Brew Bus, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
You certainly enjoyed every aspect of our Local Pour tour which is specifically designed to show the variety of alcoholic beverages available in our city.

On that tour there is beer (7 different), but also mead (8 different), alcoholic iced tea and lemonade, kombucha (6 different or so), cider (2 or 3), and distilled spirits (7 different kinds). It's a very dynamic tour!

We are glad you chose us during your time in Portland, and that you learned so much about our industry. Thanks for staying hydrated too. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maine Brew Bus also viewed

 

Been to The Maine Brew Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing