We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and Overpriced”

The Scenic Route Maine Tours
Ranked #11 of 36 Tours in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a local, family owned and operated tour company looking to share with you what we love about Maine! Fully narrated by local Maine guides! City & Lighthouse Tour ~ 1.50hrs * City highlights * 30 mins at Portland Head Light. More time than any other tour company! 3.5hrs * 90 minutes of free time to enjoy this lovely fishing village * Enjoy the view of Walker's Point, where the former President Bush spends the summers. Freeport Shuttle runs every hour. WE ONLY OPERATE WHEN THERE ARE CRUISE SHIPS IN TOWN OR PRIVATE TOURS.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were promised extra sights that the other tour companies do not offer. What a mistake. The tour we took two years ago through someone else was much better and cheaper. If you think seeing condos is considered an extra sight, then waste your money. We also thought the owner was not very friendly. That should have been a warning before giving him our money. We wish we would have booked elsewhere.

11  Thank PattyT0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled H, Owner at The Scenic Route Maine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi there,
As my wife has expressed to you privately, we are sorry that you did not have a good experience with The Scenic Route Maine Tours. I do apologize if I personally came off as rude in any way, that is certainly not the impression I was to leave. Even if I was having a bad day, it is important to not let that impact the way I treat our great customers.

As you can see, our ratings are very positive and I really do regret the fact that you were in the less than 1% that had a less than great experience. We have refunded the price of your ticket, as we would not want you to pay for a bad experience. If you ever do return to Portland, we hope you allow us to redeem ourselves with an excellent experience!

Thank you for the review, as good or bad it is important for us to hear!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages
All reviews
"cruise ship"
in 34 reviews
"great tour"
in 42 reviews
"combo tour"
in 10 reviews
"small passenger"
in 4 reviews
"wedding cake"
in 4 reviews
"the portland head light"
in 17 reviews
"light house"
in 15 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 4 reviews
"take pictures"
in 10 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 6 reviews
"portland lighthouse"
in 4 reviews
"allen park"
in 4 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 5 reviews
"enjoyable tour"
in 5 reviews
"walk around"
in 8 reviews
"hour tour"
in 9 reviews
"private tour"
in 5 reviews

207 - 211 of 322 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Had Santa do a home visit for my grandchildren and is was one of the best experiences I've had. All the children got a gift and got to sit on Santa's lap to have their picture taken. They all got a letter from Santa and Reindeer food. They were so excited when Santa came through the door with his red bag of presents. We loved it so much we're going to do this for them every year. I highly recommend this for every family, day care homes, centers and nursery schools. Great experience that your children will always remember. A+++

1  Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Off season and a Sunday afternoon, but Kahlid was happy to oblige with a 1:45 tour of Portland and the Light Head! We enjoyed it very much and it was perfect for what we were looking for. Even though there was just 3 of us, they accommodated us and gave us a pleasant and informative tour at a reasonable price. Would recommend!

2  Thank Jnoe2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

we had booked in advance a tour for the day online...Portland was a one day port of call and based on trip advisor reviews we selected the scenic route company....they responded quickly and professonally to our inquiries...when our cruise ship was unable to dock due poor weather the company refunded our money immediately...they certainly will have our business next year!!

2  Thank tml1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Met up with Kahlid and his wife right outside the terminal gate. Their package to Kennebunkport was $25 cheaper than the cruise offering, and the van allowed more sights than the large bus. The driver offered lots of local insights and side road attractions to give us a great flavor for the area.

One point to note is that the vans are small and fill up quickly. We were lucky and were the last on...folks behind us missed out. Best to get a reservation before you cruise or arrive in town.

2  Thank VaTechDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scenic Route Maine Tours also viewed


Been to The Scenic Route Maine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing