We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great new place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spread - CLOSED

Spread
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pearl
Transit: nearby
Description: We stumbled upon the place for a late-night drink, but were very impressed with the ambiance, bar scene, and the food menu (we didn't eat here), but this place needs to be recognized and reviewed. I will gladly be the first and give it 5 stars.
portland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great new place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stopped in here by chance one day when we were walking by and were intrigued by the decor we could see through the windows from outside.

The bar is really cool and has a stone top, the bartenders are really knowledgeable in old fashioned drinks and the drink menu has many options that are interesting. We only tried appetizers and drinks there but everything we had was excellent and flavorful. I think this place has a lot of potential and I hope it succeeds. The only problem I can foresee is that the space is very large and it can seem desolate in there when it's not that busy. There is something to be said for the atmosphere at a restaurant and if it seems dead all the time because the space is too large- it will drive business away.

I think it's really swanky and it's a great spot for big groups for dinner and drinks. Try it out!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank labelle00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Something's amiss . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a large space and seems cursed -- a few prior restaurants in the same space had only short runs. We wanted to like this joint, but couldn't warm up to it. The have a large and well stocked bar with a fancy cocktail list, but the drinks seemed just a bit weak. It seemed they use crushed ice for soda & booze drinks (rum/coke and gin/tonic), which makes for a watered down result. The techno music in the background and the contemporary art may or may not be your "thing," but this is after all Portland, ME and the decor didn't work for me. As for the food, a bit uneven. $1 oyster special was a good deal and the oysters were tasty. Duck was cooked right and crispy skin, but greens were incredibly almost inedibly bitter. Empty plates sat on the table for a period of time after we ate -- a plate of mussel shells gets old fast if it is left on table too long. What does this restaurant want to be? A hip bar? A tapas / small plates joint? A serious food destination? All of the above? There are places that do each of these better in Portland, IMHO.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrubGuzzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Classic old-school drinks in a fresh fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We only stopped in for drinks and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Menu looks really good too. We will be back to eat. Service at the bar was great. I really liked the old-school drinks available at the bar.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarkInBoston10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice swanky place in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I like a nice place with a cool atmosphere to get some fancy cocktails. The price wasn't very high for the ambiance and the bartenders were really nice. They have small plates which are delicious and fun original drinks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great meal - lucky find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were quite tired by the time we arrived in Portland. It was getting late and this small city was very busy . We came across this place by accident - and just managed to get a table for three. The food was imaginative and extremely flavoursome. The dining was eclectic but had a charm of its own. Our waiter ( a US Liverpool fan) was attentive and knowledgeable. Give this place a try - it is well worth it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spread also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing