We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oyster bar or a bar with oysters?”

Eventide Oyster Company
Ranked #12 of 627 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just opened and is owned by Hugo's next door. Excellent "tapas" small plate seafood. Oysters from Maine and away. Incredible cured Artic Char.
New York and London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“an oyster bar or a bar with oysters?”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Because this seems to be the latest hip place for after work drinks it is crowded and chaotic, albeit probably very profitable. But noise levels are high too and seating not very comfortable, perhaps to discourage lingering.
BUT the oysters looked delicious ( I can no longer eat them alas) and the choice of condiments inspired and innovative. Husband said they were very good. My peekytoe crab roll ( using a Chinese steamed bun which wasn't explained) was good. The lobster stew would be improved by a dash of Spanish Oloroso rather than a slug of cheaper drier sherry.
There are sherries and sherries and they aren't interchangeable.

The menu is limited - don't go if you want an extensive choices, do go if you like very fresh shellfish.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Economistmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    870
    333
    117
    59
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Large selection of oysters”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We Really enjoyed the crab bun and the battered hake and the raw oysters. The waitress helped pick the oysters and she did a good job. The wait for a table was disorganized and we stood for a while before they took a drink order. It is not really a place for a big dinner but small plates and raw oysters. I enjoyed my food very much. I thought the lobster stew was the weakest entree we ordered. The whoopee pie for dessert was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aweiss00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Tiny Place big on Taste”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Small plates and Oysters. If you like Oysters, this is the place to try them. This place is a foodie haven. Everything we tried was great! The place is small so be prepared to wait or come at an off time. Well worth my time. One of the best in Portland.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank annsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great oyster bar”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was a great find on a recent visit to Portland, Maine. The menu was small plates and innovative. The oyster selection was superb. Small place but has ambience of nice bistro. Service was great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 312samu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good but not cheap”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Very small place with limited seating. Staff was pleasant and attentive. Very crowded for a Sunday afternoon at lunchtime.

We started with drinks while we waited. The Bloody Mary was excellent as was the Mai Tai. We had a mix of a dozen Maine oysters. The oysters were flavorful but small. At $29 a dozen for local oysters, it just seems a bit much.

We had the NE Clam Chowder which had great flavor and was full of clams and potatoes. However, I had two issues with this soup. it was not at all creamy as a NE clam chowder usually is so it was more of a soup than a chowder. My big problem with this soup is that it was made with steamer clams. In case you are not familiar, they are also known as “pisser” clams. I have a distinct dislike for steamers.

The lobster roll at $13 was petite as are all their sandwiches. It was outstanding though it is not a traditional roll since it is served in brown butter on a homemade roll.

Overall the food is very good, but the food is just a bit over-priced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hardway22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eventide Oyster Company also viewed

 

Been to Eventide Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing