We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster Bar Plus!”

Eventide Oyster Company
Ranked #12 of 627 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just opened and is owned by Hugo's next door. Excellent "tapas" small plate seafood. Oysters from Maine and away. Incredible cured Artic Char.
Portland, Maine, United States
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Oyster Bar Plus!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went to Eventide with our Daughter and Son-in-Law the other day and had a great lunch. I love oysters and had a tasting of several varieties, delicious! Then to follow up had lobster stew, fried oyster roll, coleslaw and oil cured herring! Everything was excellent, but the lobster stew is the BEST LOBSTER STEW I have ever had, and I have had lots of lobster stew. The atmosphere is casual oyster bar and the servings are small (that's why I had so many). Love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanford F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    870
    333
    117
    59
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Attention Oyster Fans”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a cool place! If you're a fan of oysters - you NEED to go to this restaurant! It's a cool little places - only seats about 30/35 guests - super casual - no reservations except for parties of 6 or more. We were a party of 2 the other evening. We were seated at stools along the long window counter which was totally fine for me - but a bit of a tight squeeze for my big husband. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. When a spot opened up at the bar, they kindly had no problem with us moving over there (which was a little more spacious). The oyster selection was one of the best we've ever seen - and the accoutrements as well. We really liked the Horseradish Ice to go with the oysters. They did have a few entrees on the meal - but for us, it was a great place to pop into for oysters and drinks, then move onward. So delicious! Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mbuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Inventive and Delicious”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was prepared to hate this place. It has a certain too-hip-for-you air about it, but I was pleasantly surprised. First, the staff are friendly and, while hip, not eye-rollingly hip. Also, the food is really, really good, which trumps any hipster-induced annoyance. All of the dishes we had were really fresh and delicious, with unexpected twists (see, e.g., the pork buns). The cocktails were fantastic. We had a great boozy night at the bar listening to 80s hits, drinking delicious cocktails and wine and trying as many menu items as we could fit in our stomachs. I recommend this place to out of towners and residents alike.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zonkers1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Heaven for your mouth”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We love Eventide. It's really good. It's kind of that simple. My husband loves oysters and every time we go he gets them and loves them. Me? Not so much. There is plenty on the menu to eat that isn't oysters and it's all yummy, the drinks are yummy, We tend to go at off hours as I'm not patient and don't like being crowded - it's a small space and busy. To me the food and drinks are worth the space and wait - even for me! It's really a lovely place!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Quality not quantity”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Having read several reviews about the lobster rolls, we were anxious to try. The roll reminded me of steamed pork roll. It was the perfect way to serve chunks of lobster bathed in nutty brown butter. My only complaint was the portion size, which was small. Originally we shared but it was so good that I ordered a second. Next we had the waitress select an assortment of oysters with house made cocktail sauce and horseradish ice. I was surprised about the difference in size, texture and saltiness. Highly recommended although pricey and small portions.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAHITTHEROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eventide Oyster Company also viewed

 

Been to Eventide Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing