We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters!!!”

Eventide Oyster Company
Ranked #11 of 617 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just opened and is owned by Hugo's next door. Excellent "tapas" small plate seafood. Oysters from Maine and away. Incredible cured Artic Char.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Oysters!!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Eventide was recommended to us by several people and being oyster lovers, we had to go! So glad we did! We went for lunch on a Sunday in November arriving around noon and we were very glad we got there when we did, the restaurant was completely full shortly thereafter. We sat at the bar and received excellent service. The bartender recommended a lovely wine to go with my raw oysters as well as helped describe the various sauces for the oysters. There were at least 12 varieties of oysters from places close to Portland to across the country. The oysters were displayed on ice on a oyster bar carved of stone.Very handsome. We chose four varieties of oyster and some sauces. The traditional cocktail sauce was excellent but the horseradish ice was to die for! We enjoyed the food, the ambiance, and the service very much. As it was lunch time we did not try other items from the menu but from what I saw and smelled going by, everything looks good. We can't wait to go back again! A great restaurant and a must do if you are in Portland!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethB112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    316
    111
    53
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, service”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My fiance and I dined at Eventide this past weekend (Nov 2013) and were very satisfied. The quality of the food was fantastic and our server was more than accommodating. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and other local attractions. She was both very attentive and polite.

We started with the clam chowder, which featured thin broth but great flavor and an appropriately portioned amount of clams. It was served with a perfectly baked biscuit that served us well as a dipping instrument to soak up all the delicious broth. We then, at our server's recommendation, ordered a lobster roll and the clam bake. The lobster roll, with its steamed roll, brown butter vinaigrette and wonderfully tender lobster meat was a delicacy, although small. The clam bake, also on the small side, was very pleasantly plated featuring little necks, mussels and a lobster tail. It was served with your standard butter and some broth for cleaning the clams.

Overall we were very pleased with our meal. The only reason this is a 4 star review instead of a 5 is the portion to price ratio. However, we will certainly return if life brings us to Portland in the future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Arrived in Portland on a spontaneous trip and arrived starving. Decided to start out here and then meander further to a second restaurant. Well, THAT never happened! We sat at the bar and we started with oysters. And then just had to try everything on the menu - perhaps even the menu too??!! Guzzled the Saemling wine, a nice mineral-y white.

But the additionally great part of our experience was Ryan behind the bar. Attentive, genuine, knowledgeable, friendly, and even tossed a plate at us gratis (Korean fried oyster)! Too bad when we went back a few days later for the 2nd time, she was not there. We sat at the bar. The gal behind the bar with the long hair and face piercing was friendly enough but seemed distracted and never quite noticed when our glass and/or plate/s became empty. We missed you that time Ryan!!!

We tried oysters (including some from Alaska!), the lobster bisque, the peeky toe crab, the tuna, just to name a few ... I just cannot recommend this place highly enough. We loved Portland and this place. If I lived here, it would be my favorite. This place and Grace were GREAT but Grace is a separate review.

Thank you Eventide and thank you Ryan! We'll be back again for sure!
Love from Brooklyn ;-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annarchy_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Couldn't have a friendlier staff”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in this week looking for fire rivers, but no luck. Instead had oysters available locally recommended by our waitress. Ended up liking them more than fire rivers!

The decor is very bright and clean with the impressive bar chilling oysters as if they were drinking buddies.

Helpful?
Thank allianne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, & Unique but Expensive”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Great oysters, superb lobster stew but expensive! We will go back in order to understand one oyster from another.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eventide Oyster Company also viewed

 

Been to Eventide Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing