We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters done well”

Eventide Oyster Company
Ranked #11 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just opened and is owned by Hugo's next door. Excellent "tapas" small plate seafood. Oysters from Maine and away. Incredible cured Artic Char.
Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oysters done well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This is mostly an oyster bar. Yes you can get other things, but it is an oyster bar. My husband really likes raw oysters, so for him it was a great experience to be able to try several different varieties. There really is a difference. He also had the clam chowder which was good, but not your traditional chowder. I had the korean BBQ oysters and they were delicious. They also had a good assortment of beers and ales. It is a small place, but we went at an odd hour of the day and had no trouble getting a place. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MERN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    308
    105
    51
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Oysters done right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is the restaurant I would open. We loved everything about it. Excellent oysters, include some you can only get there, great cocktails, knowledgeable staff. We tried several dishes including the lobster roll, clam chowder, oyster bun, etc... All fantastic. We will definitely be back next time we are in Portland. Have an open mind, be willing to try new things and you'll love it too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canada_doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quality food but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had a late lunch last weekend at Eventide on Middle street. Our party of four was lucky enough to get a table that was clearing out as we walked in. Otherwise the place was full and busy right out to the sidewalk. This place is about Oysters and they display about two dozen different varieties, fresh, on a bed of ice on a huge block of granite. There is a large chalk board listing the types available. Except for an ivory colored shell variety from Rhode Island that I was curious about I told the waitress "dealers choice" on the rest and let the shuckers pick out what they thought we might enjoy. They were all delicious and different in size and "brininess". With each dozen you can pick two toppings. We opted for the Tabasco ice and a a cucumber sauce. They both added wonderful dimensions to the oysters. I had a vodka martini and my wife had a bloody Mary, which I tasted. Both were very good. At twenty seven dollars a dozen, it's no bargain but the variety and freshness is what you're paying for. In addition to the oysters, we followed up with a charcuterie board that was also very tasty. It was served on a small pedestal of hard wood, oriental in style. It has a dollop of stone ground mustard, a small pile of ribbons of pork jowl, some duck pate, pressed goose, and something else that escapes me at the moment (salami?). The other end of the board has some pickled red onion and daikon. While very good, it did not rise to the level of the oysters. One of our companions had the lobster roll and it is very small. Almost hors d'oeuvre size. The waitress was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. She spent a lot of time describing each dish that we asked about. This is not "fine dining" but as an after work stop for a drink and some pre-dinner oysters, it certainly fills the bill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherlockzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I don't get the hype -- expensive, tiny portions, average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are locals in Portland and tried this place for a recent family celebration for our party of ten. We knew we'd be sitting at a cramped picnic table, so I won't fault restaurant for that -- though choice of picnic tables makes for uncomfortable seating - be warned. The server did not read the days specials and did not inform us this is really a tapas style spot with TINY portions -- you need to order multiple plates to put together a meal. She seemed crabby and hassled. The lobster roll is literally two tiny bites in size -- could be polished off in one bite and it costs $12. My bloody mary was small, expensive and fairly tasteless...The noise level was insane. Perhaps a fluke but my son found long black hair floating in his chowder -- YUCK!! This would be an okay place to go to go sit at the bar and have a drink and some oysters BEFORE you go somewhere else for dinner. When we all finished our plates and had run up a huge bill, my father-in-law smiled and said "where are we going for DINNER?" Pick carefully!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“simply perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is an oyster BAR; there are no velvet ropes or velour banquettes, it's about the food -- it's a bit like paradise before they rebranded it a spa and offered mud massages and scented candles. The oysters are killer, the bar is a beautiful, rough slab of raw granite hew out of a Maine mountain, filled with ice and topped with oysters. Really fresh oysters. But that's not all, delicious oyster rolls and lobster rolls, a perfect battered hake that melts in the mouth like butter; even the baked beans (with bacon and maple syrup) are really memorable. A selection of good beers and other drinks to pair and what's not to like ....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TanZimSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eventide Oyster Company also viewed

 

Been to Eventide Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing