We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trolley Tour”

Portland Discovery Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to get up close and personal with Portland’s landmarks, lighthouses and harbor seals AND learn some city history, join Portland Discovery on a Land & Sea Tour! Start your day on board the Discovery trolley as you travel from city streets to rocky coast and make your way to Portland Head Light, Maine’s oldest and most photographed lighthouse! After a break for lunch and shopping in the Old Port, board a classic cruise boat for a 90-minute narrated harbor tour, where you’ll see 4 lighthouses up close, 3 Civil War forts and several of the inner bay islands, including Halfway Rock Ledge, home to many seals and seabirds.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Trolley Tour”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Took the Trolley Tour with a guide named JJ. He was knowledgeable about the history and architecture and his delivery was fresh and sprinkled with humor. A very enjoyable intro to Portland. Now we know what sights we want to go back and spend more time seeing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pdruhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    198
    28
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pine City, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Quick Tour of Portland”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It is located in downtown by the harbor, easy to find. We did the Portland City and Lighthouse trolley tour. It was a nice tour. Our guide pointed out all of the highlights to see in Portland and a little history; things if we were on our own we would not know or go see. She did pull over several times allowing us to take better pictures but like any tour you can really only see what is on the side that you are sitting. The trolley stopped at the Portland Head Lighthouse for 30 minutes. This was enough time to take pictures, enjoy the view and stop in the gift shop. I enjoyed the trolley tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Did the Trolley (land) & Light House (sea) tour and it was really fun! The trolley tour was a great way to get you bearings in Portland. We did the afternoon Light House tour and it was great to be out on the water seeing the sights, but our tour guide was boring!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenniferKoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A must see trip while visiting Portland”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We took the Lighthouse Lovers Boat Tour and had a great time. We took it to see our favorite lighthouse from the water and were pleasantly surprised about how nice it was. They take you around the harbor and do an excellent job of narrating. We really felt informed about everything we saw, including the history. The cost was low and I felt so good about the tour that I felt compelled to donate to the tip box. Even if you are only visiting for one day, you should take this tour. We will fondly remember this tour for a long time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MeAndMyHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Gives You a Great Perspective of the City”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visiting Portland for the Labor Day Weekend, and we jumped on the 44 minute "Peek at Portland" trolley tour. It gives you a real quick history of the city, a view of city you cannot see walking or if you are the driver. The guide, John Jenkins, did a great job of sharing his extensive knowledge of the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesliemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Discovery Tours also viewed

 

Been to Portland Discovery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing