We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly hotel staff, immaculate huge rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
SouthCoast Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly hotel staff, immaculate huge rooms.”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We decided to take a last minute trip to up to Portland and I booked the hotel online through Hilton's website, one day in advance. I got a room with a King bed and requested a view of Casco Bay. Upon arrival (1/2 hour prior to the 4pm published check-in) we were greeted by the valet who directed up to the lobby for a quick check-in. Alex greeted us warmly at the front desk, he was excited to tell us that he had secured us a King room on the 5th floor, with a beautiful view of the waterfront as requested! He also told us he would be available all evening if we needed anything else, we only needed to call. They valet was very accomodating too, as we need to retrieve a few items from the car after dinner and he was most helpful. Our hotel room and bathroom were HUGE, the view was incredible and the entire place as immaculately clean (they even laundered the duvet covers). Although the hotel was quite full, we never heard any of the other guests. The room was quiet even from the street noises, there was a lively bar across the street but we never heard anything! We choose the bed and breakfast package for $15 extra (normally $30). They served a full breakfast buffet complete with eggs cooked to order, the waitstaff was very friendly and everything excellent! The hotel is located across from the Casco Bay ferry lines and the end of the Old Port, it was convenient to everything. I would go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMerryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    429
    88
    19
    13
See reviews for
342
640
50
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford RI
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Great downtown location, but if you have kids and the pool experience is important, you don't want to go here. The pool is small, cramped, 5 feet deep, extra chilly. Not a place you hang out in.

My 3 year old got a rash coming out of the pool! It is a salty/ green eco pool.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We were favorably impressed by the Hilton at the Waterfront - room had two large beds, fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, neutrogena products. Would stay there again in a heartbeat - just don't expect to get much help from the front desk. They had never heard of a local business that I wanted to visit, and then when they located the address, were unable to guide me there. Turned out to be literally 5 minutes away by foot. Our rate seemed fair and we saved $30 or so by parking on the street (eminently practical in MArch if you arrive after 4pm and leave before 9am)>

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank undertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

If you're looking for a hotel in Downtown Portland that is near the waterfront, the Hilton Garden Inn is a really great choice.

The hotel is right near everything, and the staff is super friendly and helpful. The bartender is a peach of a guy - very communicative and friendly without overdoing it.

Prices at the hotel could be a little lower, but it does seem most of the nicer hotels in Portland are not exactly inexpensive.... you get what you pay for.

I'd recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThirstyHockeyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed here March 7-9, 2009. The hotel was completely booked on Saturday night. Sunday night seemed a bit calmer. The hotel offers a nice leisure / business atmosphere. The lobby is pleasant, with a chatty bartender and a couple of fireside seating areas. Food is also available until 9:30pm, either in the lobby/restaurant area or through room service. The food is quite good and very reasonably priced. The front desk staff was helpful when we asked for directions to a lighthouse and state park on Cape Elizabeth.

The hotel has 6 floors. Our room was on the 3rd floor, room 314. It faced onto Commercial Street (the waterside street) and had a partially obstructed view of Casco Bay. For better views of the bay, it would be wise to request a room on a higher floor (probably the 6th) since there is a large parking garage across the street at the ferry terminal. Even though we were street-side on the 3rd floor, street noise was not a problem at all. The room was well equipped with a microwave and refrigerator, and the bed was comfortable.

Not a big deal, but be warned that the hotel elevators can be rather slow at busy times (checkout, meal times, etc.), and the stairwells do not exit into the lobby. The stairwell on the right side of the hotel (as you face it) has only an alarmed emergency exit. The other stairwell exits outside into the valet parking area. So, if you want to get to the lobby, be prepared to wait 3-4 minutes.

The hotel's business center is very well equipped with two new Dell desktops with widescreen monitors, nice Herman Miller Mirra chairs, and a free color printer. The rooms also have the Mirra chairs, complimentary wireless access, and the ability to print directly from your laptop to the hotel's free color printer (note that we did not try the room printing option, so we're not sure how easy it is to set up).

We did not make use of the pool and fitness center, but the pool is a basic lap pool with a window facing onto the street. The fitness center next door appeared to have a few treadmills.

A note about parking. The hotel currently charges $15 per day for parking. Virtually every street is downtown Portland has metered parking Monday-Saturday (9am-6pm). However, if you have the flexibility to move the car, it is possible to park directly across the street from the hotel, especially if your stay includes a Saturday night to Sunday (as ours did) when the meters are not in effect.

We paid $179 per night for our room. This seems like a lot, but given the dearth of hotels on the Portland peninsula, we found this hotel to be well worth the money. The location is very convenient to many of the city's main attractions. For example, if you are there in the summer, we would recommend an afternoon trip to Peaks Island -- the ferry is right across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We had a great stay here at this hotel, the staff are handpicked and are a great asset, super check in staff and Dennis the barman is a sound guy. Overall we had a wonderful stay in a great location, try get the 6th floor overlooking the harbour Wow! what a view. We had breakfast one morning and it was very good, plenty to chose from and the eggs cooked fresh and good.

The room we had was a great size, plenty of space. I would recommend a stay here, it is right on the waterfront in the old city and plenty of restaurants and bars around here. The Business centre on the ground floor is excellent also, didn't have time to use the pool but it looks small and narrow, 2 people swimming lengths at most I would think.

They kindly drove us to the train station on our departure.

We'll be back for definite.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwoonGmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay! The room was very large, clean and cozy, but the best part of my stay was the CUSTOMER SERVICE. The front desk assistants were extremely polite and helpful! I travel a great deal, so great customer service is very important to me. When I return to Portland this summer, I will stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront again!

  • Liked — The customer service and location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tanaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing