We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilton Garden inn very accommodating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hilton Garden inn very accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Booked two rooms at this hotel. It was pouring on the day we were supposed to arrive. They very nicely changed our reservations for the next day. Check in was fast and friendly. The concierge was helpful, and the rooms were clean and ready. Tea, coffee, and hot chocolate are available all day in the lobby. Our stay, although short, was very pleasant. Without hesitation, I recommend this facility.

Room Tip: Ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Lorwin,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of us on line. We are pleased that you found us friendly and clean, and appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    408
    84
    19
    13
See reviews for
308
595
46
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Very nice accommodations and friendly, helpful staff. Room was quiet, clean and comfortable, and hotel is located in the Old Port area of downtown Portland. Lots of restaurants, and shops in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Linda S,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn, Downtown Waterfront. We are pleased to read that you found us comfortable and convenient. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to seeing you the next time you travel to Portland, Maine.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Whenever I travel I usually try and stay at a Hilton property and this one was terrific. Room was very nice. First night we discovered the AC was not working. Staff tried to problem solve the issue but were unable to correct the problem. On duty night staff brought up two fans which was helpful but the fans were noisy. The following morning I stopped down to speak with Beau, the property manager. He quickly adjusted my room rate and followed up with engineering. The problem was fixed in short order while we were out of the room. Ethan, the parking valet was very helpful with directions and things to do. The staff at this property have excellent customer service skills. Location of this hotel was very accessible to many of the sights to wanted to see. Already planning to return here next summer.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LauraS1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear LauraS1125,

Thank you for the honest review of your recent stay with us. While we regret the issues you had with your air conditioner, we are pleased to note that Beau and the team were able to get things fixed in a timely manner and make it right. We appreciate the accolades. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Portland, Maine.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel was very nice.... Room was great... Dinner was good.... Air Conditioning in restaurant was a little too strong...

Very convenient for walking in the shopping district. Service was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Jim H,

Thank you for posting a review of us on line. We appreciate the feedback, and hope that you can join us again soon, we are launching our new dinner menu later this month.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Unique location across from the port facilities - ferries and cruises. Only the usual seaside noise and smell however. Restaurants and shopping just out the front door. Valet parking - efficient. Friendly informed staff. Rooms large but standard. Not really worth the price but I am here anyway.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2millionandcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear 2millionandcountin,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn, Downtown Waterfront in Portland, Maine. You are correct, our location and build is certainly unique for a Hilton Garden Inn, being directly across from a working harbor. It does bring many enjoyable conveniences with it, and I am pleased to note that you were able to appreciate the proximity to ferries, restaurants and shops. We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Since when do you pay $350+ per night and not get your room cleaned, have your room key changed without notice, and had no shuttle available from and to the airport? Wow. The location is great, the staff is nice, and the facility is good enough, but wow, really? Especially if you pay luxury prices, you should expect these basic services. Value is not worth the price here.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sputnik100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Sputnik100,

Thank you for reaching out to us during your stay so we were able to correct the issues that you faced. I apologize for the troubles you had. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly at April.Rossignol@hilton.com for future reservation inquiries. We would love to be able to have you back, as I am certain your recent experience is not typical.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

From check in with the valet, to the front desk...we were treated like family. Hotel room was very large (standard,queen double). Coffee and microwave in room super clean. All staff very friendly and able to help us find all attractions and needs. Excellent location across from harbor and all the great shops. We will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KatMom419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear KatMom419,

Thank you very much for posting a review of us on line. We appreciate your valuable feedback and are pleased to read that you found us so clean and friendly. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing